Talking to Allah

July 3, 2009 at 4:56 pm 4 comments

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم
السلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته

Made my day!

Source: SunniPath Blog

SunniPath is the vanguard of combining religion and technology. A funny thing happened a few days ago. I was reading a dua at a remote mosque. I didn’t have it memorized so I was reading along with a recording on my iphone. A five to six year old Palestinian girl came up to me and pointed at the iphone and said, “Aysh hadha (what’s that)?” I responded, a telephone. Thinking I was reading Quran, she continued her inquiry, “You’re reading Quran on a telephone?” Laughingly, I tried my best to explain, “No, no. It’s also an electronic device as well that can play Quran and I read along.” With a look of amazement on her face she blurted, “Are you talking to Allah on a telephone?” I thought about it and I guess I was, since I was making dua and using an iphone. It was a bit of a reach but I didn’t want to disappoint her. “Yup.” Her eyes got bigger. “Can I try?” I shrugged my shoulders and put the headphones on her. “Ya Allah, bidee diraja (O Allah, I want a bicycle).”

Entry filed under: Posts.

Isra’ Mi’raj Disclosing sinful past to prospective spouse

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mawaddah  |  July 3, 2009 at 10:22 pm

    wow. love the way the palestinian girl said about talking to Allah through reading Quran. something that is quite hard to for us to reach. i mean really immersed in reading the quran as if we are communicating with Allah. really admire their level of piety. subhanallah:)

  • 2. alfaqeer  |  July 4, 2009 at 1:12 am

    mawaddah: Indeed. :) May Allah help us! Anyway dear, I’ve been hearing of people going for Umrah and all. Can you believe its been 2 years since I’ve met you? :) Will never forget our Umrah moments.. May Allah bring us there again!

  • 3. muwahid  |  July 4, 2009 at 1:51 am

    If you want Allah to speak to u, read Qu’ran. If you want to speak to Allah, make d’oa
    – unknown

  • 4. mawaddah  |  July 4, 2009 at 1:32 pm

    yes yes !! haha . those were the days :) amin..

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Archives


