Contented Strangers

June 12, 2009 at 4:56 pm 8 comments

intro

(*points above* Pretty right? Got that from here.)

Anyway, I’ve always heard about the Prophet SAW loving three things: perfume, women and prayer. I never knew there was a longer version to it. And its so beautiful masyaAllah! I got it from the same website as above.

Here goes:

The Messenger of Allah SallAllahu alaihi wasallam said, “I was made to love three things from this world – perfume, women, and prayer.’

The companions were sitting with him and Abu Bakr RadhiAllahu anhu said, “You have spoken the truth, O Messenger of Allah! I was made to love three things from this world – looking at the face of the Messenger of Allah SallAllahu alaihi wasallam, spending my wealth for the the Messenger of Allah SallAllahu alaihi wasallam, and giving my daughter in marriage to the Messenger of Allah SallAllahu alaihi wasallam.

‘Umar RadhiAllahu anhu said, “You have spoken truthfully, O Abu Bakr! I was made to love three things from this world – commanding good, forbidding evil, and worn garments.”

‘Uthman said, “You have spoken truthfully, O ‘Umar! And I was made to love three things from this world – feeding the hungry, clothing the naked, and reading the Qur’an.”

‘Ali said, “You have spoken truthfully, O ‘Uthman! I was made to love three things from this world -serving the guest, fasting in summer, and fighting with the sword.”

As they were discoursing, Jibreel Alaihis Salam came and said, “Allah the Exalted sent me when He heard your discussion and has ordered you to ask me what I would have loved if I were to be from the people of this world. The Messenger of Allah SallAllahu alaihi wasallam asked, “If you were to be from the people of this world what would you have loved?”

Jibreel Alaihis Salam replied, “Guiding those led astray, keeping the company of contented strangers, and helping families afflicted with hardship.”

He continued, “The Lord of Honour loves three things from His servants – giving one’s utmost, crying when in regret, and being patient in times of poverty.”

May that be of benefit insyaAllah. :) Jum’ah mubarak everyone!

ps: I found Jibril AS’s reply of “keeping the company of contented strangers” to be really sweet. :)) I hope he’d like to be with me. Hehe.

But actually, that really summed up my week. Through the events I’ve attended this week, I’ve had girls who keep giggling or smiling shyly at me and then later on they’d send me messages on Facebook telling me they saw me somewhere but was too shy to come up to say hi. Haiyo. Seriously, like I said to one girl, I don’t eat people. And even if I do, I wouldn’t eat you. Haha! All you ladies I’ve met this week, you guys are really “contented strangers” and it was great to have been in your company. May we meet again in similar settings insyaAllah. :)

Entry filed under: Allah SWT, hadith, Prophet SAW, quotes, Sayyidina Abu Bakr RA, Sayyidina Ali RA, Sayyidina Umar RA, Sayyidina Uthman RA. Tags: .

The Heart’s Yearning Weekend Advice

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. umm bilal  |  June 12, 2009 at 5:40 pm

    Assalamu alaikum, and Juma’ah Mubarak to all! Masha’Allah, you have created an inspiring place Dear Sister Ameera. May Allah Ta’ala continue to shower His Barakah on all you share, Ameen. And may we meet in the Garden of Bliss, the only setting worth aiming for, Insha’Allah :)
    Wassalamu alaikum

  • 2. muwahhid  |  June 12, 2009 at 11:12 pm

    Assalamu ‘alaikum,

    Jazakillah khair for your post. Where is this longer version found?

    Wassalam

  • 3. alfaqeer  |  June 13, 2009 at 1:28 am

    umm bilal: Waalaikum salaam! Ameen! InsyaAllah we will. :)

    muwahhid: Waalaikum salaam. Wa iyyak. This longer version is found in Ibn Hajar Asqalani’s book “Preparing for the Day of Judgment” translated by S.M Hasan al-Banna.

  • 4. muwahhid  |  June 13, 2009 at 12:22 pm

    Assalamu “alaikum,

    This was said by Mufti Husain Kadoodia of South Africa.

    http://www.sunniforum.com/forum/showpost.php?p=364711&postcount=3
    http://www.sunniforum.com/forum/showpost.php?p=364739&postcount=5

    wassalam

  • 6. alfaqeer  |  June 13, 2009 at 12:47 pm

    muwahhid: Waalaikumsalaam. Thank you for that. In any case, may we derive benefit from the ‘fabricated’ hadith. Seems to me that there are a lot of good that we could try to follow:
    -commanding good
    -forbidding evil
    -feeding the hungry
    -clothing the naked
    -reading the Qur’an
    -serving guests
    -fasting
    -guiding those led astray
    -helping families afflicted with hardship
    -giving one’s utmost
    -crying when in regret
    -being patient in times of poverty

    May Allah help us in doing the above!

  • 7. muwahhid  |  June 13, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    Amin to your dua

    However, We should not be attributing it to the people involved

    You can derive benefit without using those people involved and attributing the statement to them. as stating those people involved and stating it as a longer hadith is wrong. Stating someone said such and such without isnad is wrong.

    Furthermore, we have many authentic hadith that tell the same as above and we should use them

    The Holy Prophet (peace be upon him) said: “He who tells a lie on me intentionally, let him take his seat in the Hellfire” (Bukhari Volume 1, No 107).

    Allah knows best

  • 8. umm bilal  |  June 14, 2009 at 12:07 am

    Assalamu alaikum Dear Sister Ameera,
    came to alert you to the comments generated by the post I made, but seems you have also been notified. I have deleted the Hadith and written to the publishers of the quotes text.
    Ameen to your Du’a.
    Wassalamu alaikum

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Archives


