Legion of Lovers

May 18, 2009 at 3:36 pm 7 comments

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم
السلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته

MasyaAllah, just a while ago, Ustaz Saiful Adli posted this particular nasyeed on Facebook. And it got me to thinking.. Allahu Akbar! The Prophet’s SAW lovers are everywhere! :)

They come from big, strong men who readily shed tears for the Prophet, to the helpless single mother, to the whites and the blacks and all those in between, to those who speak Arabic and those who can’t, to the young and the old, to the illiterate and the illiterate, to those who have had the chance to visit Makkah & Madinah and those who have never been out of their home towns, to the Westerners and the Asians and the Facebookers and those who have no internet access. Allah!

Could there be anyone more beloved in this world than the Prophet SAW? Ahh, surely not!

I can’t put up the video here (for those with Facebook, I posted it on my profile) but here’s one of my favourite, if not my most favourite, nasheed of the Prophet SAW. :)) Its by Hamada Helal.

Mohammed our prophet gave us his light
From Mecca his light was glaring on Medina
He who prays his prayers and tries to improve his attributes
How lucky is he who walks in his shadow
And adds to him with his death

Oh our Imam, the secure one, the support prop for Muslims
My beloved Mohammed
Oh son of Abdullah
You completed the prophecies completely
And you hold the seal (of the prophets)
Throughout my life and in my prayers I send salawat to him

Mohammed our prophet gave us his light
From Mecca his light was glaring on Medina
He who prays his prayers and tries to improve his attributes
How lucky is he who walks in his shadow
And adds to him with his death

From the first day in my life that I heard my mother and father sending salawat to him
It made me love faith and feel secure and I was indelibly attached to it
God send blessings, protect and bless him
God send blessings, protect and bless him

I see you myself in my sleep, oh Messenger of God
And I cry on your shoulder and sleep there, oh Beloved of God
And I attain honor with your accompaniment
And I walk among the ranks of your Umma
And I am protected by you

Oh beloved oh pure one oh deliverance from the maze
You changed the world in our eyes between a night and its morning (referring to the night journey)
He who prays his prayers and tries to improve his attributes
How lucky is he who walks in his shadow
And adds to him with his death.

Entry filed under: Prophet SAW, videos. Tags: .

Plant seeds. One-Liner

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. eshev  |  May 18, 2009 at 4:41 pm

    Asalaam alaikum, not sure if it is just how the english translation is written, but aren’t some of the lyrics questionable in terms of aqeedah, such as “in my prayers I call praying to him,” & ” I heard my mother and father praying to him”?

  • 2. alfaqeer  |  May 18, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    Waalaikumsalaam,

    Not at all. The arabic word “solli” from the word “solah” means prayer but also means “to send blessings”. In this translation, it would have been more appropriate to translate it as “to send blessings upon the Prophet SAW” instead of “pray”.

    Hope that helps. Should ask someone well-versed in Arabic for a clearer explanation insyaAllah.

  • 3. eshev  |  May 18, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    Ooh okay, I am not at all fluent in Arabic, so just reading the translation is very misleading ~ It would have been better as you mentioned to translate it as “send blessings” or even “pray for” instead of “pray to” which is very very different ;)

  • 4. muwahid  |  May 18, 2009 at 10:23 pm

    Assalamu ‘alaykum,

    So, it might be a good idea on your part to change the english translation if it is a problem with translation.

    “And I am protected by you.” also sounds problematic as we seek protection from Allah alone.

    We must love the prophet sallallahu alayhi wasallam and manifest that love by following his sunnah.

    Allahu’alam

    wassalam

  • 5. alfaqeer  |  May 19, 2009 at 1:25 am

    eshev: Apologies. I had merely copied & pasted the lyrics from elsewhere. I’ll be more attentive to such intricacies in language next time insyaAllah.

    muwahid: Waalaykumsalaam.

    InsyaAllah will do just that.

    With regards to that : “I am protected by you”, I would just like to mention that lyrics, like poetry, uses metaphors and allegories. Just like the qasidah that goes “Anta shamsul, anta badrul” which means “You are the sun, you are the moon” to refer to the Prophet SAW, of course its not literally saying the Prophet SAW is the sun or the moon. We’re using sun & moon to show that he SAW brings light to darkness etc.

    In the same way, perhaps the songwriter had used “I am protected by you” in much the same way. Like the hadith that says for every salawat you send upon the Prophet SAW, Allah sends 10 salawat. This salawat that Allah SWT sends is manifested by blessings and protection, amongst other benefits of sending blessings upon the Prophet SAW. Therefore, the line “I am protected by you” does not have to be problematic if we were more open towards linguistic expressions such as poetry and such.

    Wallahu’alam.

  • 6. muwahid  |  May 19, 2009 at 10:43 am

    It is good to clarify as people might take it literally. So, thank you for clarifying. However, I prefer to err on the side of caution.

  • 7. muwahid  |  May 19, 2009 at 11:11 am

    Even in your analogy based on hadith, the protection is from Allah.

    Allah knows best

    Jazakillah Khair

    Wassalam

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Archives


