How We Are :)

April 20, 2009 at 2:45 am 12 comments

brother

After the maulid & talk by Shaykh Yahya Rhodus, Shaykh Khalil Moore & Ustaz Iqbal Abdullah at SimplyIslam at Still Road, my brother & I decided to walk to Bedok MRT to meet our parents.

Along the way…

1)

Me: Eh, shall we race?

Adiq: Okay.

Me: Okay, from here until the 4th tree okay?

Adiq: Okay, I give you a headstart.

*I start running and ends up at the 3rd tree and realize he didn’t even change his walking speed. I walk & reach the 4th tree & go “Yay I win!”

Adiq: Yay, congratulations.

___

2)

Me: Adiq, are you strong?

Adiq: Yes.

Me: You want to carry me?

Adiq: No.

Me: You want to ‘chang’ (piggyback) me?

Adiq: No, I have my bag.

Me: What if I carry your bag then you ‘chang’ me?

Adiq: No.

Me: You want to drag me?

Adiq: No.

Me: You want to pull me?

Adiq: No.

Me: You want to slap me?

Adiq: *silence*

Me: Oi, you want to slap me ah?

Adiq: I didn’t even say anything!

Me: Silence means consent!

Adiq: Silence means I’m thinking about it.

Me: Whaaat. You don’t love me! Do you love me?

Adiq: Yes la.

Me: So you want to carry me?

Adiq: No!

_____

I must be the most annoying sister in the whole wide world. And he must be the most patient younger brother ever. Hehehe. There were so many more moments when I was taunting him & I told him I was going to post our conversations here but now I can’t remember them. Haha.

Its my parents’ anniversary today. :))

May Allah bless their marriage with mawaddah, rahmah & sakinah always. May they always find reasons to fall in love with each other again & again & again. May Allah purify their hearts & strengthen their love for His sake & prepare for them a most beautiful castle in paradise for them to live together once again as husband & wife. InsyaAllah amin!

My parents are the most unlikely couple I would ever imagine. Aside from their height difference, my father is so quiet, and speaks very little. My mother, aiyoh some of you have met her and you know when she opens her mouth, half the block can hear her. Haha. My dad rarely shows any emotion at all while my mum is always merajuk-ing openly, or laughing loudly, or crying in front of us. My dad is the most relac-one-corner man EVER & I always call him the overgrown-mat while my mum is the type who plans everything to the minutest detail & make lists & is super organized.

And yet, I can tell that they can’t live without each other. :) My dad speaks so little but who knows how he’s feeling but my mum who always tells us if he’s down or angry when we can’t tell at all. Who else but my dad can pacify my mum when she is merajuk-ing with either of us? My dad values my mum’s opinion highly when making any decisions, no matter how small. My mum always has my father in mind when doing anything.

Despite their many differences (and the many squabbles), I feel like they’re just so right for each other. And though the wrinkles may have formed and their hair may have greyed, I pray they still get the same tingly feeling when they look into each others’ eyes’ as they did 22 years ago on the pelamin. :)

Parents

Okay before I start crying, I’ll end here. Will update soon with what I learnt during the workshop with Shaykh Yahya insyaAllah. In the meantime, doa for my parents please! Thank you! :)

Entry filed under: family, myself, parents, pictures. Tags: .

Happy weekend! Ouch.

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sufyan  |  April 20, 2009 at 8:42 am

    Tsk tskk, tsk tskkk, pass me the tisu please. Hehe.

    Anyway, please share with us whatever the Sheykhs at Still Rd imparted to you can? =D

  • 2. Fadzuli  |  April 20, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    So your mum sounds like you lah..
    and your bro has the Father’s traits….

  • 3. alfaqeer  |  April 20, 2009 at 4:36 pm

    Sufyan: InsyaAllah.

    Fadzuli: Weiiiiii I’m not as talkative or as loud as my mother okay! You can ask her! I always tell her to be more quiet! Wahlau.

  • 4. ruqayyah  |  April 21, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    yes, we must always dua for our parents =) may Allah bless you for being suchhh a good daughter amin ^^

    insyaAllah tonight i’ll be going to darul :D

  • 5. .gam.  |  April 22, 2009 at 2:03 pm

    Opps! I thought I was the only one who automatically saw the similarity between the 2 of you when u were describing ur mum! Heeeee =Pp

    And may Allah continue blessing their already lovely marriage. Amin :)

  • 6. alfaqeer  |  April 22, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    ruqayyah: MasyaAllah, I must let my parents read this so they know I’m a good daughter! :P Haha I’m kidding. MasyaAllah, I pray I am a good daughter & continue to be a better one as time goes by.

    Anddddd I saw you at Darul! Too bad you disappeared after a while, couldn’t really catch up. Hope you are well darling.

    gam: Eh you don’t cari pasal okay! You said I was demure seyyy. :P

    But anyways, amin to your doa! And for your parents the same! :)

  • 7. Siti Az-zahra  |  April 24, 2009 at 1:07 pm

    hey as-salam..
    i went to the darul arqam too d other day…
    didnt manage to see u… :(
    anyway, ur bother n u so cute eh…

  • 8. alfaqeer  |  April 24, 2009 at 2:14 pm

    Siti Az-Zahra: Salaam :)
    I was late to Arqam so I sat upstairs. Its okay, insyaAllah an opportunity will come up again I’m sure.

    Yeah, there’s only 2 of us la. So must be rapat kan? InsyaAllah it’ll stay that way.

  • 9. Siti Az-zahra  |  April 24, 2009 at 3:33 pm

    hey i was sitting upstairs too…mayb saya tk prasan awak…
    i was sitting behind a lady wearing niqab…..

  • 10. alfaqeer  |  April 24, 2009 at 3:42 pm

    Siti Az-Zahra: Haha that lady in niqab is my best friend! She was sitting right behind me! I was in pink jubah.

  • 11. Siti Az-zahra  |  April 24, 2009 at 5:07 pm

    ya Allah..
    for real?

    u were with ur laptop rite?
    hehe…
    nice stripped hijab u got there!!

  • 12. alfaqeer  |  April 24, 2009 at 5:13 pm

    Siti Az-Zahra: Haha na’am, for real. Yes I was with my laptop. That was me alright. Heh. :)

    Thanks darling!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Archives


