Just a note

April 6, 2009 at 8:13 am 2 comments

Salaam & good morning everyone!

Before I move on, I hope all you undergrads who will be facing exams next week and the coming weeks are all in good health insyaAllah! It seems to be a pre-exams syndrome for me but the onset of migraines and stomach-feels-funny combinations has hit once more. Not complaining, not complaining. May this be my kaffarah. I hope everybody is doing well – in school, in work, in your relationship with Allah. :)

Anyway, I pray Allah protects me from ignorance and my own nafs while I write this. With regards to my previous post where I posted an article by Shaykh Nuh Ha Mim Keller, I received a comment that included a link to a website.

The website was dedicated fully to refuting Shaykh Nuh. I was so saddened by it. I explored the website some more and found to my disgust that it was written by a group of “servants of Allah”. They don’t even have the courage to publish their names or where they’ve studied etc and they have the audacity to write such things against Shaykh Nuh? How do I know if the “servants of Allah” are actually credible? They claim to be saving the rest of us from ignorance, but are they really? Which Muslims would hide under the cloak of anonymity & promote hostility towards scholars?

The points that they have brought up against Shaykh Nuh are mostly things that have got to do with khilaf. The scholars of old have already published fatwas and written books on those very issues. What is another website going to do or contribute to the debate? Why focus on issues of khilafiyah when there are pressing issues to deal with?

If thats not enough, they had a link to another website. This time, it was a website, again dedicated fully to refuting another scholar – Shaykh Hamza Yusuf. Allah!

The person who left that comment on my blog, I am sure your intentions was good. However, I am not going to accept your comment. I am responsible over the contents of my blog and I’m not sure I’m going to advocate hostility towards scholars.

What I am going to advocate is formal studies over anonymous websites;
living teachers over anonymous “servants of Allah”;
unity in the Ummah over hostility;
respect for difference in opinions over petty squabbles.

//

I pray so hard for Allah to open the hearts of everyone who is searching and learning and seeking, to guide us on the straight path, to unite the Ummah, to have wisdom and patience, to grant us true & sincere love for Allah and the Prophet SAW, to make it easier for us to acquire knowledge, to forgive our past and future sins, to grant us teachers who will guide us through the avalanche of information out there, who will show us the truth from falsehood.

“Allaahumma arinal haqqa haqqan warzuq nattibaa’u wa arinal baatila baatilan warzuq najtinaabuh

O Allah, show us the truth as truth and give us strength to follow it and show us the false as false and give us strength to avoid it.

Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

Studying without a teacher Here I Am

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. redtide  |  April 7, 2009 at 10:46 pm

    Salaam ‘alaik..

    Hm, ada tersilap skit kat do’a yang last tu..

    Allaahumma arinal haqqa haqqan warzuq nattibaa’u wa arinal baatila baatilan warzuq najtinaabuh…

    Ameen to that!

    fii hifzillaah.. (“,)

  • 2. alfaqeer  |  April 7, 2009 at 10:54 pm

    redtide: Alaikassalaam!

    Eeeks! Haha. Thanks for noticing! Dah tukar pun. :)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Archives


