Here I Am

April 6, 2009 at 10:53 pm 4 comments

Here I am

All night, a man called “Allah”
Until his lips were bleeding.
Then the Devil said, “Hey! Mr Gullible!
How comes you’ve been calling all night
And never once heard Allah say, “Here, I am”?
You call out so earnestly and, in reply, what?
I’ll tell you what. Nothing!”

The man suddenly felt empty and abandoned.
Depressed, he threw himself on the ground
And fell into a deep sleep.
In a dream, he met Abraham, who asked,
“Why are you regretting praising Allah?”

The man said, “ I called and called
But Allah never replied, “Here I am.”
Abraham explained, “Allah has said,
“Your calling my name is My reply.
Your longing for Me is My message to you.
All your attempts to reach Me
Are in reality My attempts to reach you.
Your fear and love are a noose to catch Me.
In the silence surrounding every call of “Allah”
Waits a thousand replies of “Here I am.”

/Rumi

Entry filed under: poetry. Tags: .

Just a note Prayers’ reply.

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nis  |  April 7, 2009 at 2:50 am

    salam…
    permission to copy the Rumi writings and email it?
    All the best for your exams…

  • 2. ruqayyah  |  April 7, 2009 at 10:19 am

    beautiful… masyaAllah..

  • 3. alfaqeer  |  April 7, 2009 at 11:58 am

    nis:Salaam. Sure, no need for permission. :) And thanks!

    ruqayyah: Yes, very! :))

  • 4. faruq  |  April 7, 2009 at 5:51 pm

    He Was in No Other Place

    Cross and Christians, end to end, I examined. He was not on the Cross. I went to the Hindu temple, to the ancient pagoda. In none of them was there any sign. To the uplands of Herat I went, and to Kandahar. I looked. He was not on the heights or in the lowlands. Resolutely, I went to the summit of the [fabulous] mountain of Kaf. There was only the dwelling of the [legendary] Anqa bird. I went to the Kaaba of Mecca. He was not there. I asked about him from Avicenna the philosopher. He was beyond the range of Avicenna … I looked into my own heart. In that, his place, I saw him. He was in no other place.

    – Rumi

    “Neither My Earth Nor Sky Contain Me, but only the Heart of My Believing Servant”
    – Hadith Qudsi

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Archives


