Body Witness

March 8, 2009 at 1:51 pm 4 comments

This was an excerpt from an exchange of emails I’ve had. Just thought it’d be of benefit.

Regarding what you said about the use of our limbs and hands and tongue to get what we desire…. I feel you. Every inch of my body has disobeyed Him because of my commands. Wish I could have a new body, a new heart sometimes. And it scares me endlessly when I think about the time my body parts can speak for themselves. What would they say about me? Would my hands say “Dear God, forgive her for doing so-and-so with me. She did use me to help others.”? Would my feet say “Dear God, forgive her for walking towards this place with maksiat as her intention. She did use me to walk to the mosque.”? Would my hair, my neck, my thighs complain about the times I allowed men to feast their eyes on them during my non-hijab days? Would they all have nothing good to tell Him about how I utilised them? :( I remember one time I was crying really badly thinking about this that I actually spoke to my body! I was like, “Please please, just help me on that Day. Be with me and not against me. I know I’ve used you in ways I shouldn’t have.”

=/

Entry filed under: Last Day. Tags: .

When you have nothing to lose Surge

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. redtide  |  March 9, 2009 at 8:09 am

    Salam ‘alaik, just to share a thought..

    The reality is that, everyone is inescapable from sins. That’s just how humans are. They are forever prone to error and we must always remember the fact that Shaitan has promised and will always be on standby to lead humans to the wrong path.

    However, we should stop living in the past, this may even be one of the ways Shaitan tries to trick us by making us think negatively all the time resulting in a slower process of repentance or weaker will to change which may eventually lead us to repeat the past sins.

    Instead, we should work on moving forward positively and work with the now and plan well for the future. Keep ourselves busy with positive matters and get connected to positive people in the community. Sincerely repent to Allah from our past sins and refrain from repeating them. As Allah says in the Noble Qur’an;

    (Truly, Allah loves those who repent, and He loves those who cleanse themselves) (Al-Baqarah 2:222)

    (O my Servants who have transgressed against their souls! Despair not of the Mercy of Allah. Verily, Allah forgives all sins: for He is Oft-Forgiving, Most Merciful) (Az-Zumar 39:53)

    Even if we find that we may have sinned again keep praying and making du’a to Allah as they will serve as a protection.

    Among the most powerful du`aa’s for repentance is when Prophet Muhammad (peace and blessings be upon him) is referred to as Syed-ul-Istighfar (the master of forgiveness). “If a believer says this with complete faith and sincerity in the morning and dies before that evening, he will enter paradise. If he says it during the night and dies before the morning, he will enter paradise.”

    اللهم انت ربي لا إله إلا أنت, خلقتنى وأنا عبدك وأنا على عهدك ووعدك ما استطعت

    أعوذبك من شر ما صنعت, أبوء لك بنعمتك على وأبوء بذنبى فاغفر لى فإنه لا يغفر الذنوب إلا أنت

    “O Allah! You are my Lord. There is no God except You. You created me and I am Your slave. To the best of my ability, I will abide by my covenant and pledge to You. I seek Your protection from the evil of my own creation. I acknowledge Your favors to me and I admit my sins. So please forgive me for no one can forgive sins except You.”

    Then to fill our time with ‘dzikrullah’ as much as possible at any time/situation. This may help to dispel bad thoughts whenever they arise. Then to keep ourselves busy with good deeds(prayers, du’a, reciting the Qur’an, help out in the society and so on) as much as possible. If we keep doing all of the above no matter what, insya Allah they will be the factors that will help us on the Day of Resurrection.

    And Allah knows best.

  • 2. zhaf  |  March 9, 2009 at 6:15 pm

    Ever heard the saying of our blessed prophet – Die before you die? Think about it in relation to your post, you taking account of your actions before the real reckoning happens.

    In any case. It may not seem like much, it may seem too little, but even the smallest deed done for Him in sincerity will catch His merciful gaze. Lord have mercy on us and guide us all.

  • 3. sm  |  March 10, 2009 at 6:44 pm

    masyaallah that post felt like knives running through my heart.

  • 4. alfaqeer  |  March 13, 2009 at 2:33 pm

    redtide: Thanks so much for your input. Indeed, I agree with you regarding the moving forward positively. I guess its a very subjective matter. For me personally, sometimes thinking about these increases my himma, my yearning to leave my past behind and to strive to be better. It really depends on the attitude you have with regards to the matter I guess. I totally agree that it’d be unhealthy if we keep thinking about the past.

    Again, thank you so much for your comment. I’m sure people derived benefit from it.

    zhaf: Yes, and to Him we place our hopes. May He accept our repentance and our tainted deeds!

    sm: *nods head* When I read it the 2nd time after typing it, it still hit me bad.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Archives


