Have you thanked Him today?

January 17, 2009 at 8:31 am 2 comments

Salaam & good morning everyone!

I haven’t been posting much besides articles on the situation in Gaza because I just don’t know what I could say that could possibly be more important that whats happening there.

But hurting is one thing, and talking and trying to spread awareness about it is another. I know all of us are hurting. The numbers keep escalating and I really dread checking the news each time. But I’m too addicted to it anyway. Its been 3 long gruesome weeks of fighting and the death toll stands at more than 1100 Palestinians and 13 Israelis. :(

Well, I’m sure everyone can read other articles on their own seeing as to how I get at least one article in my email inbox each day about the Israeli Occupation.

So, because of that, I realized that I shall continue sharing whatever it is that I’ve been wanting to share. This morning, I’m thinking about gratitude.

Have you thanked Him today? For those of you who wake up each morning reciting the dua upon waking up would have done so. The dua reads:

الحَمْدُ لله الَّذِي أَحْيَانَا بَعْدَ مَا أَمَاتَنَا وَإِلَيْهِ النُّشُورُ

Alhamdulillahi lazi ahyana ba’da ma amatana wa ilahi nushuur.
All praise is for Allah who gave us life after having taken it from us and unto Him is the return.

But those who haven’t, thank Him now! :)

I was just thinking about the way we treat people who have done something for us, no matter how small. We are extra nice, we take care of the things they have given us and we wonder what we can do to repay the person. We have a good opinion of the person and generally have warm feelings towards the person.

And then I thought, masyaAllah, who else deserves all those mentioned above but Allah?

Say: “It is He Who has created you (and made you grow) and made for you the faculties of hearing, seeing, and understanding: Little thanks it is you give!
Surah al-Mulk 67: 23

He has given me the greatest gift of all, that is of Iman and Islam, without which I would be so lost trying to navigate myself in this crazy world. But how do I show my gratitude? By not taking care of my iman, tainting it and not caring to shower it with ingredients that would strengthen it. I am so lax in this great duty I have towards my Iman, thinking it would always be there, that what I’m doing would be enough, but how do I know? How do I know for sure that this beautiful, abstract thing that I have right now will always be with me?

At the point of sinning, there is no iman in the heart. Astagfirullah.. so how many times a day does the iman actually reside in my heart? Actually, how much of my day is actually being lived as a Mukmin – someone with Iman? Wallahu’alam. :(

We take such precious care of our belongings. We send our cars for servicing, we go to the dentist to get our teeth checked, we spend much time, effort and money in making sure our earthly belongings are in great condition and neglect the very things that will ensure our safety in Akhirah.

We listen to music for hours on end, not caring that it will have an effect on our heart. Being heedless is not seen as a sin and we go for hours occupying ourselves with businesses of this world. And we console ourselves with our 5 prayers, thinking, hey at least even with me being so busy, I make time for my 5 prayers.

Allah! You did not “make time” for your prayers, it is your obligation to Allah. It is not a favour, neither is it something to be proud of. How easily contented we are when fulfilling the rights owed to Allah, and how horribly difficult to satisfy and satiate our own selfish desires. We do so little and expect so much in return. Astaghfirullah..

Anyhow, all this is directed to me first of all. I just thought it could be beneficial by sharing my thoughts this morning. Have a blessed weekend everyone! Have the people in Gaza in your prayers yea?

Tanda syukur itulah taat
A sign of gratitude is obedience
Setiap tempat setiap waktu
In every place and in every time
Syukur itu dapat dilihat
Gratitude can be seen
Pada sikap dan tingkah laku
Through actions and behaviour


Entry filed under: Posts. Tags: .

Into the Abyss: Gaza and the Crisis of Political Morality Too many words too little

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Archives


