My First Step

January 2, 2009 at 1:50 pm 4 comments

Salaam everyone!

Sorry I have been missing in action. I hope everyone had a swell Ma’al Hijrah and also 2009. I heard many heartbreaking stories about the choice of celebration of our fellow Muslim brothers and sisters. My heart hurts and I’m still thinking of how best to reach out to them when in the first place, I have limited access to these youths. You know like how the rich get richer and the poor get poorer? Its like those with iman & ilm make friends with others who also have strong iman and ilm and so they both progress higher and higher. And then those who already have no good source of motivation and guidance seek friends who are also in the same boat. And the devil is ever-ready to ‘guide’ them. I hope to do something about it somehow…

Its really so sad. Plus we had to hear news of the situation at Gaza. I guess it hasn’t been the best of starts to the year. I shall leave to ponder on that by myself and move on with my blogging.

One thing that has been of a topic during my conversations with my beloved Original Spiritual Comrade is having the love for Allah.

I read in a book by Imam Ghazali (if I’m not mistaken) that if you were asked if you love Allah, you should keep silent. Because if you say you don’t, you are committing blasphemy. And if you say you do, your actions contradict what you say (through your disobedience etc).

Anyhow, the Malays say, “Kalau tak kenal maka tak cinta”, or ‘if you don’t know, how can you love?”

And therefore, I decided to find out more about Allah and I thought that knowing His Names and Attributes would be a good way to start.

I don’t know why I always have favourites for everything haha but Al-Halim has always been my favourite Name from His 99 Revealed Names. And so here’s my sharing for today:

Taken from the book “The Name and the Named” by Shaykh Tosun Bayrak al-Jerrahi al-Halveti.

“AL-HALIM

He is forbearing in the punishment of the guilty.

He waits, giving time to the sinner to realize his guilt and ask forgiveness in order that He may forgive rather than punish. He has absolute power and is just. Yet He is gentle and compassionate: He prefers to pardon the guilty rather than take vengeance.

So many among us deny Him, revolt against Him, disobey Him, tyrannize His good servants, mistreat His creation, and tyrannize themselves. And they keep doing this, not even getting a bellyache from eating what is stolen from orphans. Do not think that they will go unpunished. Allah al-Alim knows. Allah al-Adl judges. But the gentle al-Halim waits, preferring to see them regret, change, repent, compensate for the harm they have done, so that He may forgive them and transform them into good servants rather than destroy them.

In this compassionate attribute of Allah there is a breath of relief for all of us. Is there a day or an hour that passes in which we have not sinned? If Allah were prompt in His punishment, not giving us time to realize what we have done and its consequences, to beg His forgiveness and hope for His mercy, there wouldn’t be a person alive on the face of earth. Allah says

“If Allah were to punish people according to what they deserve He would not leave on the back of the (earth) a single living creature: but He gives them respite for a stated Term”
-Surah Fatir 45

Allah loves those pure and clean hearts that, like clear mirrors reflect His beautiful attributes. Allah loves the gentle Halim man who is not ready to condemn, to avenge, but rather waits and hopes that his adversary will change and become halim himself.”

Now that is why Al-Halim is easily my favourite Name. Whats yours? Perhaps my next sharing I will share yours. :)

Entry filed under: Al-Qur'an, Allah SWT, books, love for Allah.

Ya Rabbi, Strange, me.

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. seeking patience  |  January 4, 2009 at 4:44 pm

    Wow… wow… Subhan’Allah…Never saw that perspective before, thanks for sharing it…

    I guess mine’s Al-Ghafur, The All-Forgiving and As-Sabur, The Patient. Pretty related to yours, I think :D

    I was a rebellious kid, so when I reflected on all those years that I was in my rebellion phase, and on the incredible blessings He Had Given me, I realised, Masya’Allah, He Could Still Love me and Bless me with so many wonderful things despite all that I’ve done.

    And I interpreted that as His Way of Forgiving me, and I am AWED at His Patience with me. He Could’ve Taken my life away at any moment He Chooses to, and torture me for all that I’ve done in my grave, but no… instead He Guided me. I don’t know how to thank Him for that. Masya’Allah…

    That’s why now I try hard to emulate those attributes, to be patient with others which helps me to forgive their every mistake… but I’ll never match up to Him, obviously… Subhan’Allah… :)

    Ouh and these two attributes actually point towards another favourite attribute of mine: Al-Latif, The Gentle :)

  • 2. ruqayyah  |  January 4, 2009 at 9:05 pm

    Ar-Rahman, Ar-Raheem… we say it everytime. :) may Allah always look after you, ya ukhti *hugs from far*.

  • 3. alfaqeer  |  January 4, 2009 at 10:59 pm

    seeking patience: Yes I agree with everything you said! I was quite the rebel too and got myself into many stupid silly things which I regret. =/

    And yet al-Halim waits for me to realize my mistakes and turn to Him. Which is why its my favourite! :D

    InsyaAllah, I’ll share al-Ghafur next time round yea.

    ruqayyah: Yea, that one tak boleh kalah. Haha. Its the 2 most amazing, consoling names of His.

    May Allah always look after you too darling. *hugs back!*

    (ps: Thanks for the call the other day! It really did make my day. Such a nice surprise..)

  • 4. faruq  |  January 5, 2009 at 9:22 am

    Dzul-Jalali-Wal-Ikram

    Owner of Majesty and Bounty

    Rabbul-Arshil-Adzhim

    Lord of the Mighty Throne

    Both He used to describe Himself in His Glorious Book.

    I like to be awed :)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Archives


