Fa aina tazhabun?

December 2, 2008 at 8:02 am 4 comments

103: Say: “Shall we tell you of those who lose most in respect of their deeds? –
104: “Those whose efforts have been wasted in this life, while they thought that they were acquiring good by their works?”
105: They are those who deny the Signs of their Lord and the fact of their having to meet Him (in the Hereafter): vain will be their works, nor shall We, on the Day of Judgment, give them any weight.
106: That is their reward, Hell, because they rejected Faith, and took My Signs and My Messengers by way of jest.

-Surah al-Kahf (18)

SubhanAllah.. That line really scares me so.

Often times we think we are doing it for Allah, try to be good, try to do good deeds etc. But by whose standards? Our own moral standards? One thing my Ustazah said to me about 2-3 months ago has stuck to me. Thats the thing about her; she knows just what to say to me. With others, she’s gentle and says the nicest things. But she knows I’m the appreciate-honesty-no-matter-how-stung-I’ll-be-types haha. I call it Hikmah – she knows how to touch you where it matters. :)

We were talking and I was telling her of what I wanted to do, my plans and stuff, and I ended with saying “I hope Allah is happy with me & what I’m doing”. And she said, “Oh so you still get to do what you want? Why don’t you do what Allah wants?” – with a smile.

Ouchhhh. Haha. It has been ringing in my head since then. She always, always gives me new perspectives to look at things. And I’m confident that its always for the better. This time round, she wasn’t challenging me or telling me indirectly that what I was doing wasn’t right. She wanted me to see that sometimes we get so caught up in wanting to do things, our big plans and big dreams and all that, but that we overlook the fact that although at the beginning, we had Allah and His Pleasure in mind, along the way, we kind of ……. for a lack of a better term, forgot. And we continue doing what we planned to do, not realising that perhaps Allah isn’t happy with how things are.

I’m really glad for that metaphorical knock on the head. Since then, I’ve (tried to) remind myself constantly to renew my intentions. What are you doing Ameera? Where are you going? Who are you pleasing? Why do you do the things you do? Where is Allah in your plans, in your dreams, in your decisions?

Fa aina tazhabun? – When whiter go you?
81:26

Or in simpler terms – Where are you going?

Such a simple line. Such an impact it left on me. I listen to my favourite reciter reciting it all the time and yet, the enormity of the message and silent mocking tone sometimes elude me. But since Shaykh Khalil Moore mentioned it, its never been the same when I hear that line from Surah at-Takwir.

Well, I don’t mean to make you start your day in such a sombre manner. But reflecting is always good, no? And it does help to renew your intentions before you start your day. I pray everyone have a good day today and remain in Allah’s Pleasure and that Allah keeps us away from His Wrath and Disappointment.

Listen to my favourite reciter! You’ll love him too, for sure. And if anyone wants the mp3, I have Juz Amma. :) Email me okay or leave a comment and I will send it to you. Don’t shy-shy. My mum always say “Siapa malu, rugi”. In other words, if you’re shy, you’ll lose out. ;)

(Although I still believe that shyness (haya) is a Muslimah’s most beautiful dress and covering. So know when to be shy and when not to. Okay okay, before I go on and talk about how a Muslimah should behave and all that jazz, I shall take my leave. Heh)

Entry filed under: advice, Al-Qur'an, Allah SWT, myself.

A man will be with those he loves Softness

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. frazzlesparks*  |  December 2, 2008 at 12:43 pm

    Thank you for this post, love.

    For a start, we can try renewing our intentions before we start our day. And gradually progress to renewing our intentions before we perform the littlest of things. Because actions without intentions are void and intentions are better than the act itself.

    From the licit to the devotional acts. From eating and bathing to praying and fasting. We’d be amazed at the thousands of intentions we can attach to an act, which in turn becomes a deed.

    May Allah ease us all in remembering to make intentions in all that we do.

    =)

  • 2. aisha  |  December 2, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    i love reading ur post..somehow it actually ans to the question i’ve wanted to noe..ur blog brings alot of beneficial for me.

    tis post actually ring my head n made me realise tat i shd do a reflection on things i plan to do.

    thank u..

  • 3. ruqayyah  |  December 2, 2008 at 10:26 pm

    i remember that night when sheikh khalil shared that verse too.. i was with you yeah =)

  • 4. nizam  |  December 3, 2008 at 2:00 am

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts and enlightening us. “Fa iana tazhabun”
    I will Inshaallah ponder on.
    May HE for whom you do it grant you jannat.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Archives


