A penny for your thoughts.

November 22, 2008 at 10:11 pm 6 comments

I’ve been thinking long and hard tonight and I stopped myself short and said, “Ameera, your limited faculties of reasoning will not help you get to the Truth or the answer you’re looking for.”

As such, I am posting this question here to hear some of your thoughts. I hope you can help clear some space in my already-crowded brain. If you can refer me to some book, ayat in the Qur’an or a sunnah of the Prophet SAW, all the better!

The question is this: Where do you draw the line between giving up and leaving it to Him? Yes, its a question on tawakkal. Something I’ve grappled with for quite a while.

Once, I had wanted something so badly. I prayed, I put in effort, I tried whatever I could (with the limited resources and capabilities that I had at that time) and I gave my all. And then, I decided that I should just leave it to Him. Things that I was doing did not seem to get me any closer to what I wanted.

When I told a friend that I was leaving it to Him, she said to me, “You’re being too tawakkal.” What is too tawakkal?? How do you know if you’ve done enough?

Anyway, that was then. I did not get what I had wanted but I’ve made peace with it and I actually kind of see that Allah had other plans for me and I’m happy where I am with regards to that issue.

Fairly recently, I made up my mind about where my priorities should be and since then, decisions that I had made would have those as a guideline.
Again, someone commented, “You give up too easily.”

Now I’m really confused. When I’m doing so much, someone says I don’t do enough, another says I should leave it to Him. When I really DO leave it to Him, another says I give up too easily.

How do you define giving up and how do you know if you’re giving up or you’re really sincerely, honestly just leaving it to Him?

I would really, really appreciate if someone could shed some light. :)

Have me in your prayers people. I hope everyone has been doing good!

Entry filed under: myself. Tags: .

A New Heart Labbayk!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. redtide  |  November 23, 2008 at 4:04 am

    Salaam ‘alaik..

    Hm, maybe these two articles may help..

    rilekwancorner.blogspot.com/2008/03/mencari-kemenangan-dengan-acuan-allah.html

    islamonline.net/English/Ramadan/1427/Hope/03.shtml

    From what I understand, it definitely needs effort and not only that, but the RIGHT form of effort as well as placing complete trust in Allah in everything we do. Only then, we may have a higher chance of success. If it doesn’t turn out the way we hope for, only Allah knows best as what is stated the second article..

    “Every event that happens to the Muslim has one sort or another of goodness in it. Allah states that even events that seem to be unfavorable may have a lot of good in them:

    [It may well be that you dislike something in which Allah has placed a lot of good.] (An-Nisaa’ 4:19)

    [It may be that you hate something when it is good for you and it may be that you love something when it is bad for you. Allah knows and you do not know.] (Al-Baqarah 2:216)

  • 2. Fadzuli  |  November 23, 2008 at 9:45 am

    Salams,

    honestly there is not definite guide to when you should push on or give in to and leave it to complete trust to Allah swt.

    There is thing called EXPERIENCE. If you happen to do something so often such as running a project over and over again, you will eventually know what’s needed to get there and do the best job. You will know when you don’t do enough.

    This applies to taking exam over and over again. You know by each semester that there is so much to learn and so much to focus on. If you are not asking your lecturers a lot and if you are not spending time on the books without understanding, doesn’t that show how much you put in effort to get the grades?

    Tawakal happens when you are not in control of the situation like how the exam papers gonna be or how you gonna be graded.

    Before that you can control that situation.

    Hope that helps. :)

  • 3. alfaqeer  |  November 23, 2008 at 9:59 am

    redtide: MasyaAllah.. Thank you so much. May Allah bless you in wanting to help. I’ve read that SaifulIslam article before. SubhanAllah, reading it again this time round brought new meaning to it.

    As for the second article, I particularly loved this: “Mistakes, defects, or seemingly unfortunate events essentially include blessings, and each one of them is the trial of destiny. Allah gives important lessons and reminders to humans in the destiny He creates individually for each person.

    For those who can evaluate with insight, there are no mistakes or adversities, but rather lessons, warnings, and wisdom from Allah.”

    Thank you, I am really grateful. :)

    Fadzuli: Yes, that did help. Thank you for your thoughts.

    It is true that when we have experience in a certain something, we can kind of gauge what is needed to get to a certain goal. For many other things, its tricky coz its not something we’ve gone through before. Have me in your prayers! Hehe. ;)

  • 4. Nabila  |  November 23, 2008 at 8:47 pm

    :) Salam darling!

    Hmm… I guess you would be one to know about usaha, do’a, tawakkal.

    I guess, it is only up to you to decide what is best for your efforts and it is not for someone else to judge how much you do is too little or too much. Perhaps this people see it from your point-of-view and they think they would have done more should they be in your position.

    However, if you are sure that you have put your all and that amount is only so much you can take, and it may not be as much as what others can do, it should still be your prerogative to decide. At the end of the day, I still think it’s about istikhara. I call it the mini-istikhara for simple matters, cos I’d cnsider how much is too much. I’d ask others for opinions but at the end of the day I know I make the call. For the bigger things, of course istikhara is the answer. And as we all know, doa is heard but Allah but it takes patience and time. It may take minutes, hours, weeks, years before dikabulkan but at the end of the day, only we would know how much is enough and how much we should leave to Allah things that we don’t have power over.

    K am i making sense? :D

    Sis, you are in my prayers! :) Can’t wait to talk to you soon once exams are over. 5 papers for me this week. :( Subhanallah…

    Wassalam,
    Nabs!

  • 5. shafiqa  |  November 25, 2008 at 3:44 pm

    Salam adik,

    My 2cents thoughts:
    There isn’t such thing as ‘too tawakkal’. When you tawakkal, you already tell yourself that you want to put complete trust in Allah swt. And that’s of course, when you know you have done your best and Allah knows what is best for us.
    And i think most importantly sister, that you know what you are doing within your capacity and you do not let others influence or affect your final decision to place your trust in Allah swt.

    Allah knows best.

    Miraculously, like what one of the articles you read, in whatever trial or tribulation we faced, there’s always lessons we can derive from there.

    And someone ever told me that; any du’a not answered, do not be disappointed, for Allah swt has kept them for you in the Hereafter. So would you prefer it here or in your next life?

  • 6. ptknua  |  November 28, 2008 at 11:57 pm

    Salam ameera :)

    Well, just would like to share some ayat that sometimes wake me up.

    “Or think that you will enter Paradise without such (trials) as came to those who passed away before you? They were afflicted with severe poverty and ailments and were so shaken that even the Messenger (PBUH) and those who believed along with him said, “when will come the Help of Allah?”. Indeed certainly, the Help of Allah is near. (Al baqarah : 214)

    My point is whatever difficulties, failure to get what we want, that we are experienced, it is still very small. So, be patient. It can be a test for you and even benefit you further in this or next life.

    2nd :)

    “Then when you have taken a decision, put your trust in Allah, certainly Allah loves those who put their trust (in Him).” Ala-Imran : 159

    Once you believe that you have done the best for it, or you have put effort for it (which you yourself know the best), then it’s time to tawakkal and leave it to him.

    Lastly, sometimes we have to be realistic. :). As in, some may say you should do more, u should change urself to achieve sth. u should … to get what you want. I would say you have to look back at your situation in daily life. Is it really possible to do whatever other say you should? In my opinion, you know urself the best how much you can do to achieve sth. :).

    Yups, hope it helps, reminds u and benefit u in one way :).

    Wssalam
    Ur buddy :)
    Nu’man

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Archives


