Your Prayers

October 26, 2008 at 9:26 am 5 comments

A hadith narrated by Abu ‘Abbas ‘Abdullah, says:

“Remember Allah in times of ease, and He will recognise you in times of distress. What hit you could not have missed you, what missed you could not have hit you. Remember that victory comes with patience, relief comes with affliction and ease comes with hardship”.

I’ve had a few rough weeks. I recognize now the way Allah teaches me. Whatever I’ve asked for, nearness to Him, sincerity, patience etc etc, He wants to grant us what we’ve asked for. But getting them is another thing altogether. He places obstacles for us to pass before we are granted a certain something. I know that in order to get what I’ve wished for in my heart, I must prove that I am capable of attaining them.

At the bottom of it all, again and again, I am grateful and very blessed to have the company of people who have gone this path before me and are therefore, wonderful guides for me. I am grateful Allah has always been there for me through the sleepless nights, through the countless breakdowns, through everything.

I’ve read about tawakkal and ikhlas and redha. But I must now put the theory into practice. They’re no longer just words to me now. They’re big finishing lines for me to cross. Indeed, it is not an easy thing. I’ve said this to comfort others countless times before. It seems apt now that I listen to my own words: “All the saints and Prophets (peace be upon them all) had to endure great tests and fitnah. But it was all temporary. Moreover, it was only to raise their ranks and get closer to Allah.”

Now its something I’ve had to swallow. Great tests and fitnah, here I come! ;)

One thing about me though: I am a hundred times more optimistic than the regular person on the street. Haha. People have always told me that. So although my heart is broken at a million different places and my eyes have been crying and not sleeping much, my smile is almost always intact. Thank You Allah.. Thank You for the ability to still smile. Thank You for this gift of optimism, the endless hope and the honour of Iman and Islam. Alhamdulillah!

I pray everyone is doing good. This blog will cease to function until a time when I’m feeling spiritually better and also when my exams are over. I pray Allah aid all of those who are in need, grant health to all those who are sick and grant patience and sakinah to the hearts of all those who are afflicted.

Your prayers will be greatly appreciated. :)

Till I come back insyaAllah, keep the remembrance of Allah alive in your hearts people! And never forget the magic letters: WWRD.

Here’s a video for everyone. Don’t miss me! Allah is taking care of me.

Entry filed under: affliction, distress, ease, hadith, hardship, myself, Posts, videos. Tags: .

The Ideal Muslimah v.6 I have hope.

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Fadzuli  |  October 29, 2008 at 2:25 pm

    All the best for exams yah!

    We’ll see you soon. Insyallah.

    http://www.islamicevents.sg

  • 2. alfaqeer  |  October 29, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    Fadzuli: Thank you! Yes insyaAllah. I had fun with you guys that day. :)

  • 3. srikandi  |  November 2, 2008 at 12:53 am

    salaam my darling…

    i’ve reached Sg.I miss you…katheeran..:)

    ALLAH wa RasuluHU (peace be upon Him) ma’aki wa ma’ana daiman abadan…

    All the best 4 ur papers!

    Ilal liqa’ insyaALLAH…(=

  • 4. hudaidris  |  November 6, 2008 at 9:22 am

    what is ‘wwrd’ sis?

  • 5. alfaqeer  |  November 6, 2008 at 11:55 am

    srikandi: Salaam. MasyaAllah.. welcome back!!!! :) Alhamdulillah, i hope you a good flight.

    hudaidris: It stands for What Would Rasulullah SAW Do? I’ve written a post on it. You could type it in the search box. :)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Archives


