True Happiness

September 25, 2008 at 8:00 am 4 comments

I was just thinking about the times I’m sad, or actually, just grief in particular. Why people get sad, why they get disappointed etc.

And I think it has got to do with how we define sadness, or happiness. Whats your definition of happiness? What would you use as measurements to gauge how happy you are?

I’m a generally happy person. Been accused of being too optimistic at times even. (Like that’s even possible, really.) But when I cry, (which is very often haha), I really cry. And I wonder what kind of bipolar disease I have. Haha.

And then I came to this realisation and it coincides with what Allah SWT has got to say about it.

In Surah at-Taubah 9:72

وَرِضۡوَٲنٌ۬ مِّنَ ٱللَّهِ أَڪۡبَرُ‌ۚ ذَٲلِكَ هُوَ ٱلۡفَوۡزُ ٱلۡعَظِيمُ

“But the greatest bliss is the Good Pleasure of Allah: that is the supreme felicity.”

Of course there are times I cry about worldly things, when people say hurtful things to me, when I feel sadness for a friend who’s going through a rough time, when I watch sad movies (heehee), the list goes on. But the REAL tears are when I feel I’ve disappointed Allah SWT and His Messenger SAW. Thats when you just cry a REAL cry. Because my happiness lies in His Redha with me. And when I know I’ve done so much nonsense to incur His Wrath, surely I can’t be happy.

But Allah is Kind, ever so kind. al-Qadim al-Ihsan. We’re not depressed all the time because He gives hope too. He plants joy in our hearts and comfort and peace so that we don’t go mad. Haha. If we were really to think about it and acknowledge all the sins and disobedience we’ve done and how disappointed He and the Prophet SAW must be in us, tell me, how to ever smile?

But Allah loves us too much, doesn’t he? He doesn’t let us despair for long. He’s always always there, to give comfort after a good long cry. SubhanAllah. Indeed Allah is al-Wadud, Most Loving and al-Rauf, Most Gentle. :)

And how to get His Pleasure?
Obeying Him and His Messenger SAW of course. Take a look:

Surah Ali-Imran 3:132

وَأَطِيعُواْ ٱللَّهَ وَٱلرَّسُولَ لَعَلَّڪُمۡ تُرۡحَمُونَ

“And obey Allah and the (Prophetic) Messenger that you may obtain mercy.”

Surah An-Nisa 4:13:

تِلۡكَ حُدُودُ ٱللَّهِ‌ۚ وَمَن يُطِعِ ٱللَّهَ وَرَسُولَهُ ۥ يُدۡخِلۡهُ جَنَّـٰتٍ۬ تَجۡرِى مِن تَحۡتِهَا ٱلۡأَنۡهَـٰرُ خَـٰلِدِينَ فِيهَا‌ۚ وَذَٲلِكَ ٱلۡفَوۡزُ ٱلۡعَظِيمُ

“Those are the limits set by Allah, and whoso obeys Allah and His (Prophetic) Messenger, He will make him enter Gardens (in Paradise) underneath which rivers flow, to abide therein. And that is the great success.”

Surah an-Nur 24:52:

وَمَن يُطِعِ ٱللَّهَ وَرَسُولَهُ ۥ وَيَخۡشَ ٱللَّهَ وَيَتَّقۡهِ فَأُوْلَـٰٓٮِٕكَ هُمُ ٱلۡفَآٮِٕزُونَ

“And he who obeys Allah and His (Prophetic) Messenger, and fears Allah, and keeps his duty (to Him), then these are the successful.”

We can’t pick & choose what we want to obey and what we want to disobey. Then Allah can also choose to be pleased with us or not. Surely, we don’t want to give Him that option.

What are we waiting for? Lets obey! ;)

Entry filed under: Al-Qur'an, Allah SWT, grief, happiness, myself, Posts, Prophet SAW. Tags: .

Sultan of righteous works Gender-interaction in Islam

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Redwan Ahmed  |  September 26, 2008 at 4:54 am

    Assalamu Alaykum,

    This post makes me cry, i love this post

    Wassalam

  • 2. Olie  |  September 26, 2008 at 10:13 am

    Salaam, I like yr blog. I will add to my Reading Lists..

  • 3. mardy  |  September 27, 2008 at 10:03 am

    for me true happiness is having the feeling of gratitude, being thankful for everything u have, at the same time constantly improving yourself in all aspects of ur life.

    i’m happy when i read ur blog coz i feel thankful to have a sohabah like you amee! =)

  • 4. alfaqeer  |  September 27, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    Redwan Ahmed: Waalaikumsalam. Alhamdulillah. :)

    Olie: Wassalaam. Thank you. That is really kind of you.

    mardy: I love your definition of happiness! Yes, gratitude is indeed a noble trait. May Allah make us all grateful servants! Amin!

    mardy, that is really very very sweet of you to say! i am so touched masyaAllah.

    Thank You Allah for granting me such lovely friends on this path. Alhamdulillah! :)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Archives


