Guess who’s back?!

July 21, 2008 at 7:41 am 4 comments

Me of course. ;)

Alhamdulillah everyone is fine. The trip was absolutely FANTASTIC! None of us wanted to go home and we took forever to say our goodbyes at the airport.

Being the crybaby that I am, I cried so much on the last day at Mlop Tapang. They showed our pre-trip video and already I was sniffling. And then a new video which just made me cry & laugh in between tears. Such a baby la!

Anyhow, enough about me.

The trip was really great. Amor is made up of the most beautiful people ever. I cannot imagine going for this trip with anyone else. We’ve all seen each other in our morning-best and our construction-worst. Haha. In our nice, clean-smelling clothes and our paint-stained, sweaty selves. We’ve gotten really close in these 2 weeks and the thing I miss most after the trip is the company.

I’ve never worked with a group that is so passionate & dedicated as them. You could really sense the love emanating from everyone la! It just warms my heart when I see everyone else cuddling with a kid, playing with them, swinging them around etc. I became a kid all over again during this trip.

We may not have worked with Muslims and some people say its a sad thing. I’m inclined to object. Being put in a foreign land with no Muslims and no mosques really strengthens the bonds between us. The most cherished moments were our jemaah prayers. It is then we really see the importance of an ummah, of staying together no matter what, and of practising amar ma’ruf nahi munkar. Amor is really a bunch of people I will never, never forget. May Allah bless this bond and strengthen it and help us to help each other in attaining closeness to Him. Amin.

Another reason why its great we did not work with Muslims was because we could then spread Islam in our own little ways. Perhaps they had little contact with Muslims there, but now they’ve seen us and I hope we were good khalifahs!

Everyday was a busy day for us. We had to cook & clean, ourselves. We had debriefing and meetings every night which lasted till 11plus most times. Fajr was at 430 so we had an early day too. We would be ferried on the truck, standing, and then spend the day either conducting English lessons, playing games or doing construction.

Construction consists of repainting 3 rooms from the Boys’ Care Center. Honestly, we are all professional painters now la! Haha. The 3 rooms turned out really great! We had new furniture, pillows and floor mats for them. We painted murals, did stencils, painted boardgames and the study room even has the solar system hanging from the ceiling. Everyone worked their pants off and it was clear to see. Every room looked great after that. I really hope the boys like it and that they’ll study hard and be more motivated now.

We also repainted 2 slum schools and put educational posters up. Again, I hope the kids at the slums have more interest in going to school now insyaAllah.

2 things affected me.

1) The dedication of the volunteers & staff at Mlop Tapang.
They really go all out to help these kids and I really really admire them for their patience and their perseverance.

2) The condition of the slums.
Imagine living on trash. Their houses were built on trash, it was dirty, dogs were everywhere, there was no dustbins. Their dustbins were their floor! The kids at the slums, they wore the same clothes, some didn’t even have any. Most did not have footwear. Their clothes were soiled, they had wounds here and there, their teeth were in bad condition, their hair unkempt. The whole works. When we arrived, I felt we were super overdressed. Some of the kids only had pants on and no top, some the other way, some didn’t even have anything to cover them. And when we came with complete sets especially with socks and shoes and our tudung and our bags, I felt super covered up.

But the kids are amazing. A little act from us can make them so happy masyaAllah. It was really heartwarming. I really hope & pray they study hard and get their families out of the poverty cycle. Time and time again, I am reminded of just how much I have and how little I’ve thanked Him. It was really a great experience.

I could go on (and I will) but I’ll be late for school if I continue hehe.

Till again, you guys take care and please, count your blessings. :) Salam!

Entry filed under: Amor, people, Posts, reflection. Tags: .

Apologies Remembrance of Death

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. shafiqa  |  July 21, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    Assalamualaikum wr wb sis.
    Alhamdulillah.Indeed we are very blessed!
    Lucky for you, to get valuable lessons there!

  • 2. mardy  |  July 22, 2008 at 11:13 am

    Welcome back dahhling! =D

  • 3. ruqayyah  |  July 23, 2008 at 6:22 am

    habibi came back with a lot of lessons learnt and experience she’ll nvr forget insyaAllah :)

    many many syukur… to Allah who provides us with food, shelter, clothes, education.. Alhamdulillah Alhamdulillah Alhamdulillah…

  • 4. alfaqeer  |  July 23, 2008 at 7:26 am

    shafiqa: Waalaikumsalam wr wb. Alhamdulillah I really thank Him for letting me go on this trip & meeting all these wonderful people. I hope its not the last of such trips!

    mardy: Thank youuuu! :)

    ruqayyah: InsyaAllah.. Alhamdulillah. alfu alfu alfu marraat!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Archives


