For all you strangers out there

June 24, 2008 at 1:31 pm 4 comments

“…because strangers belong with strangers…”

Used to watch this a lot when I was feeling like a stranger about 1-2 years ago. Those were the times when I preferred to be alone (and it has continued till today ho ho) and this video gave me so much inspiration & motivated me during those down days. May Allah consider us as one of the strangers insyaAllah.

I haven’t had that feeling in recent months but recently, the feeling’s back. It took me a few minutes to catch hold of myself and remind myself that I’m not looking for the acceptance by people, especially when it comes to the laws of Allah SWT. When its time to pray, I need to meet my Lord and I don’t care if everyone else wants to continue with their fun. Its fine with me if you make fun of my clothes & my speech, but I’m perfectly comfortable in them and I prefer to give Salaam to Muslims than a Hi or Wassup. And its really okay if you put a label on me & say I’m “terlalu alim” (overly religious – loosely translated) if I turn down an invitation by a guy where there will only be 2 of us. At all times, I try to please Allah first & foremost. All these labels and judgments have little effect on me. I used to be more affected by them but I’ve grown up, my priorities are clear, my goal is clear. If Allah is not pleased with me, nothing in this world could make me feel better about myself. I might as well just not live anymore.

Today this song seems apt again. :)

I hope everyone remains steadfast in their values & beliefs. Its not worth it to please one person (no matter how important you think that person is to you) and risk making Allah unhappy with you. The life to come is more lasting & overflowing with pleasures & bounties. It is not easy sometimes to turn down people & we all need reminders now & then.

Today I just would like to say that what is with Allah is eternal & incomparable. Let not one moment of that pleasure be compromised for one moment of dunya’s pleasure for surely, it is nothing, less than nothing.

Sorry for the long disappearance. I hope everyone is well insyaAllah.

Entry filed under: Allah SWT, Posts, video. Tags: .

He spoke to me The Ideal Muslimah v.3

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. stranger  |  June 24, 2008 at 3:03 pm

    syukran for this video, sister in Islam.
    masyallah,it came at the precise timing when i came across it.only Allah knows how i felt.

    syukran again. may Allah bless u with good health

    for i am a real stranger :)

  • 2. alfaqeer  |  June 24, 2008 at 4:55 pm

    stranger: You’re most welcome, fellow stranger. :) May Allah bless you too. Thanks for your comment & your dua.

  • 3. Come on all you youths! « amee al-faqeer  |  October 7, 2008 at 8:04 am

    […] under Posts | Tags: Allah SWT, music, stranger, videos, youth |   This is in line with being a stranger. A great motivation and inspiring song. Hope it inspires others to strive for excellence and be the […]

  • 4. Excellence in Acting « amee al-faqeer  |  October 9, 2008 at 8:15 am

    […] lets strive to be excellent in every single thing we do and see and hear and say and decide. Let others say what they want to say if we appear too rigid and strict but always remember, we are seeking Allah’s Pleasure and […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Archives


