Alterisk Kids Camp

June 17, 2008 at 3:40 pm 7 comments

Salam! And sorry for the long disappearance. I was away helping out at a kids camp whilst shuttling between my family’s chalet. Sigh. It was quite hectic and tiring. While I was at the camp, I’d be wondering what my cousins were doing without me. When I was at the chalet, I missed the kids and was kept wondering what they might be doing instead. I just couldn’t say no to my family (plus they’ve been planning this for months) and I definitely couldn’t say no to children either! So yes, as in many things in my life, I split my body & energy into two yet again.

The kids were between 10 – 14 and they are the cutest bende ever! On the first day, I wore all black because I had mistaken the schedule for the MIB skit. This boy, Azmin, came up to me and asked, “Kakak, kak emo eh? Pakai all black?”

I was laughing la. Cute little bende. No, I’m no emo. I belong to a group called The Individual thank you very much. Haha. Here are some pictures:

The boys in my group, Hoopa, playing the Caterpillar game. See that boy in green? He looks just like Chicken Little!! Haha. Super cute okay. Apparently the game was tiring and so they were all rolling in the ground after that. Haha.

Ridwan & I. I cannot hide it anymore. I love round boys! Hahaha. I really do. I love them with a passion unrivalled. They are so cute & round and I just want to squish them. (No, I didn’t squish anyone during the camp.)

Oh and confession of all confession: I love face painting! Haha. I was such a kid during the camp. When they ran, I ran. When they laughed, I laughed. When they painted their faces, I asked them to paint mine too. Haha!

Nu’man (our Muslim brother from Thailand) who got literally ATTACKED by the kids. They were pinning him to the ground and painted his face haha. And thats Qatsier (cool name right!). I actually brought my own water gun hahaha. Budak pun kalah...

My group, Hoopa, with the Facis & SMs.

Hahaha while they were lost in Lala Land, I was busy snapping pictures. So jahat kan. If they should ever come across my blog and want their pictures taken down, I would gladly do so. (For a price. Hehe.)

But the second picture so touching right. The young boys leaning on the Abang-abang. ;) Btw, thanks Firuz for the red t-shirt! I’ll get it cleaned and returned to you asap. Jangan marah ye gambar awak di sini.

Sandcastle-building competition. Don’t be fooled; after I took this picture, I ran to join the kids haha. I had my hands dirty, my back aching, my shoes full of sand, just to help them with their sandcastle. Heehee.

Because of my silliness (and mistaken identity), I actually joined the wrong group. But because I already got emotionally attached to the kids, I stayed with them. And that is why there’s 3 ameera’s in our group. From left: Amirah, Ameera, Amerra. Haha. Macam-macam spelling.

And this is the emo boy, Azmin. Haha. Yes, thats his cap, not mine okay. Taken on the last day when we were waiting for the bus to send us back. Quite sad. I got really close to him and he confided a lot in me. About his family situation and stuff like that. At the tender age of 10, his personality and history spoke volumes about his maturity. I wish I’d be able to keep in touch with him. Very sweet boy. I hope I managed to rub off some good vibes and helped him in some way or another. I wish he knew I learnt so much from spending time with him. =/

I missed going for camps. All the effort I see by the Facis and other SMs in really wanting the best for the kids were really heartwarming. I enjoyed myself thoroughly. (Mana tidak, Kakak ni main lagi banyak dari budak-budak tu.) But I learnt a lot too. These kids were from various backgrounds and whether consciously or unconsciously, they really look up to us. Several times, they would ask me about something that I said the day before or a little action I made that I barely thought about. I realize that they really watch us closely and alhamdulillah, they were satisfied with the answers I gave them.

Being kids, they are very trusting. Its quite a big responsibility to be a good example because they assume that everything we do is right. They asked me about my tudung, about my studies, why I said certain things (chiding another kid for eating with his left hand) and various other things. Through my interaction with them, I really learnt a lot alhamdulillah. And I’m glad that the Head of Faci reminded everyone about our words and especially in using vulgar language or not-so-nice language. Its become so common, especially amongst the male species. But I don’t think I heard any of the Faci or SM using it during the camp. I hope it stays that way even after the camp!

At the risk of sounding extremely boring, I actually learnt about parenting! Haha. I had to fuss over the kids about their shoes, reminding them countless times about things they need to bring, running after them, taking care of their bottles because they ALWAYS forgot about them, asking them if they need a water break or to go to the loo, etc. I enjoy it, I really enjoy fussing over children. It gives me great satisfaction even though it was really tiring to keep reminding them and to pick up after them. Although I wasn’t the Faci for that group, I felt responsible over them.

I was reminded of this hadith by the Prophet SAW:

“Beware! Each of you is a shepherd and each of you is responsible and answerable for his flock. The leader and the ruler is a shepherd over the people and shall be questioned about his subjects (as to how he conducted their affairs); a man is a guardian over his family and shall be questioned about them (as to how he looked after their physical and moral well-being); a woman is the guardian over the household of her husband and his children and shall be questioned about them (as to how she managed the household and brought up the children); a servant is the shepherd of this master’s property and shall be questioned about it (as to how he safeguarded his trust). Beware! Everyone of you is a guardian and everyone of you shall be questioned with regard to his trust.”

-Bukhari & Muslim, See Sharh as-Sunnah, 10/61, Kitaab al-Imarah wal-qada’, baab ar-ra’ee mas’ool ‘an ra’iy ‘atihi.

I began to wonder how I would be as a mother (insyaAllah). Somehow, the task does not daunt me. I acknowledge that its a big task and its a masyaAllah, huge responsibility, but I love challenges haha. And I love children. As much as I worry about how they might turn out, I can really imagine myself fussing over a kid and making sure he reads his duas before eating, before sleeping etc, teaching him to read the Muqaddam and the Qur’an, teaching him to say “Thank You Allah!” when he’s happy and when he gets something and stuff like that. So cute right!

The thing about the kids that I came into contact with during the camp is that they are really sweet kids deep inside. But sometimes, their akhlak has been affected by the harsh and vulgar language that is used at home, the things they watch on tv and the lack of attention by their parents and their elder siblings.

When I have children, I’ll let them watch cartoons and watch superheroes like Batman, Spiderman and all other superheroes available now. But I’ll make sure their one true superhero is Prophet Muhammad SAW. Hey, he might not have a cape but he’s got his sarban. ;)

And what better superhero could there be when he’s always helping everyone around him, does not chase after wealth and fame, is strong physically and fight battles but does not abuse his strength and authority, etc?

Sure kiddies, you can adore Spiderman and I might even get you the costume if you want, but you better idolize Prophet Muhammad SAW more than anyone else. And of course, thats my job and I pray I do it well, insyaAllah.

Entry filed under: children, hadith, parenting, pictures, Posts, Prophet SAW. Tags: .

Dealings with others A Meeting With Allah

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sufyan  |  June 17, 2008 at 11:02 pm

    Assalamualaikum.

    I enjoyed reading the entry.

    Yeahh, it’s sad knowing what these kids are exposed to. But then again, it’s so rampant that I do not know how to remedy the problem.

  • 2. srikandi  |  June 18, 2008 at 2:31 am

    masyaALLAH…what a sweeeet entry! ;)

  • 3. mardy  |  June 18, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    saye pun suke jugak! esp the Rasulullah s.a.w sarban part. that was unexpected but funny haha :p

  • 4. alfaqeer  |  June 18, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    Sufyan: Waalaikumsalam. Sometimes the problem may seem to big to remedy all at once. Sikit sikit, lama lama jadi bukit! Haha. Okay thats a bit tak relevant. But I guess, it has to start somewhere. Changing one person at a time would be good. Doesn’t sound like such a daunting task then would it?

    Anyway, you haven’t blogged in a while.

    srikandi: ehh ye ke?? Haha. Mana ada?

    mardy: Hahaha not just sarban, tongkat pun ada! ;)

  • 5. Sufyan  |  June 18, 2008 at 10:23 pm

    Yeahh, have been super busy lately. Btw, did you get my friendster message?

  • 6. createmo  |  November 2, 2008 at 7:20 pm

    Thank you for your site :-)
    I made with photoshop backgrounds for myspace,youtube and more
    my backgrounds:http://tinyurl.com/5ajonc
    have a good day and thank you again!

  • 7. muhammad bib's  |  June 5, 2009 at 3:35 pm

    bang imran kak fizo ngan kak amal paling best ah dlm camp ni bang yazid paling lawak tapi abang firuz juga ah paling waise tapi fuzzi wuzzi pon susah nk figure XD

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Archives


