Real Knowledge

May 26, 2008 at 4:28 pm 3 comments

I’ve written a post and am itching to post it but I’ve asked my Ustaz to look through it first for ‘approval’ haha. Why is he taking so long to reply! Aiyah. This is the first time I’m asking an Ustaz to check my post so don’t think that my past posts are all ‘authorized’ by an ‘alim okay. You’ll know why I wanted to let it pass the Ustaz first before posting it when you finally read it. Hint: Controversial (a bit la.) Hehe.

And since I’m taking a break from work & other tasks thats awaiting my attention, I decided to reply to a (very long) comment by ‘he’ on the post on death. (People take break go makan, or talk on the phone, or watch youtube, I take break by replying to a comment. Nerd habis! Haha.)

There are many reasons why people would rather watch TV, then say read the Quran. Maybe this is something we can look into. In fact, i look forward to your input on this, because alot of us, are still waiting “to be ready” before taking that step towards Allah. Its almost like bunjee jumping, still looking down at the depth of the fall and still waiting to calm ourselves before we take the plunge.

First of all, thats a very interesting analogy. I never saw taking that step towards Allah as a bungee jump. To me, its more of a little toddler only just learning how to walk and is anxious to run towards his dad’s outreached arms. Thats exactly how I see it. How do others see it?

Why do you see it as a bungee jump? Is it something scary? Calm yourselves before you take the plunge? Why? Honestly, your comment is really interesting! I’ve been thinking about why you would compare it as such. Do enlighten me.

I know there’s a saying how the way to Allah is as many as the number of breaths of men. So its interesting to me that ‘he’ sees it as a bungee jump while I see it as a… race. Its a place I cannot wait to reach. I am running and running but I am hindered by my lack of knowledge, lack of deeds, impure intentions etc etc.

That path to Allah.. maybe it stems from our lack of knowledge and understanding of Who He is. How do you perceive Him? As a fierce, strict Lord? As a God that wants to dominate every area of your life with all His rules? As a policing God that watches all that you do, leaving you no room for freedom?

Or as a caring, loving God Who hears you when no one hears your tears? As an understanding God who understands precisely what you are going through when everyone else turns their back on you? As a forgiving God who knows your history and despite all your sins & disobedience, still continues showering upon you blessing after blessing?

Awwalu wåjibin ‘ala’l-‘abidi ma‘rifatu’Llåh
Meaning, “that the first duty upon a servant is to know Allah.”

Why do we not fear Him like He deserves? Why do we continue to sin as if He’s not watching us? Why is it so hard to change our old habits & finally submit ourself to Him?

I think its because we fail to understand Who our Lord really is. Why has He created us? What is our purpose in this life? These are questions that we always hear but we seldom find time to sit down and think about them deeply and to search for the answers. We need to know the answers to these questions, we need to get to know our Lord. Only then, I think, would we be able to worship Him properly.

Ibn Rajab (Jåmi‘ al-’Ulum wa’l-Hikam, 1:473) writes about ma‘rifah , or knowing Allah:

“A servant’s ma‘rifah of his Lord is of two levels: Firstly, a general acquaintance which involves acknowledging, affirming and having faith in Him: this type of ma‘rifah is common to all believers.

Secondly, a deeper type of ma‘rifah, or acquaintance, which leads to hearts being totally inclined to Allah: devoted to Him; intimate with Him; at peace when remembering Him; being shy of Him; and being held in awe of Him.

This is the specific type of ma‘rifah around which the gnostics, or ‘arifun, revolve – as one of them remarked: “The poor people of this world have departed from it without experiencing the most delightful thing in it.” He was asked: What is the most delightful of things? He said: “The ma‘rifah of Allah, Mighty and Majestic is He.” Ahmad ibn ‘Asim al-Antaqi said: “I desire not to die until I attain ma‘rifah of my Lord. I do not mean ma‘rifah in the sense of merely believing in Him; but a ma‘rifah so that, when I know Him, I feel shy of Him.”

Our disobedience, our pride, our laziness in doing good works, I really think it stems from ignorance from knowing Allah.

And here’s a beautiful Hadith Qudsi from Madarijus-Saalikeen that I hope will motivate everyone to go in search of finding out about Allah and fearing Him and loving Him the way He deserves.

“The Prophet (PBUH) mentioned that Allah (SWT) said, “Myself, Mankind and Jinn are in a great serious state. I create them, then they worship other gods that they make for themselves; I bless them with my bounties, then they thank someone else for what I sent them; My Mercy descends to them while their evil deeds ascend to Me; I endear them with my gifts even though I have no need to any of them while they alienate themselves from Me with their sins even though they are desperate for my help.

Whoever returns to Me, I accept him no matter how far he is; and whoever turns away from Me, I approach him and call on him. Whoever leaves a sin for my sake, I reward him with many gifts and whoever seeks to please Me, I seek to please him. Whoever acknowledges My Will and Power in whatever he does, I make the iron bend for his sake. My dear people are those who are with Me (i.e. whoever would like to be with Me, let him supplicate to Me and remember Me). Whoever thanks Me, I grant him more blessings; whoever obeys Me, I raise him and endear him more.

Whoever disobeys Me, I keep the doors of My Mercy open for him; if he returns to Me, I bestow him with My Love since I love those who repent and purify themselves for My Sake. If he does not repent, I still treat him by putting them in hardship to purify him. Whoever favors Me over others, I favor them over others. I reward every single good deed ten times over or seven hundred times over to countless times over. I count every single bad deed as one unless the person repents and ask for My Forgiveness in which case I forgive even that one. I take into account any little good deed and I forgive even major sins.

My Mercy supersedes My Anger; My Tolerance supersedes My Blame; My Forgiveness supersedes My Punishment as I am more merciful with My slaves than a mother is with her child.”

SubhanAllah.. It is so beautiful. Probably one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever read. :(

And I would just like to end with a saying by Sayyidina Ali (kw)

“The man who possess real knowledge is he who does not make man despair from the mercy of Allah & does not make them feel safe from Allah’s punishment & does not provide them with concessions in which lies disobedience to Allah. There is no goodness in worship which is devoid of knowledge. There is no goodness in knowledge without understanding & nor is there goodness in a recital (of the Qur’an) that is devoid of reflection.”

With that, I hope I had fully utilised my break & shall get back to my work. You are all in my dua & don’t forget me in yours too! Salam!

Entry filed under: Allah SWT, hadith Qudsi, ma'rifah, myself, Posts, Sayyidina Ali RA.

Announcement Sickness

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. he  |  May 29, 2008 at 12:12 am

    I forsee this may be another long reply. So pls forgive me before hand if i say too much.

    First, i realised that there was a typo in my earlier comment. It should read:

    “There are many reasons why people would rather watch TV, than (say for example) read the Quran. Maybe this is something we can look into. In fact, i look forward to your input on this”

    This, and the immediate analogy on bunjee jumping (which i will touch on in awhile) focus on procrastination.

    There are alot of people waiting, for the “right time” to enact a change within themselves. They kind of want, but also don’t want. Sitting on fence. 50-50. Unoe? Be it a small act like returning a call to someone we promised, or a major decision like, “Should i wear the tudung.”

    The bunjee jumping analogy hence applies. It is a leap of faith. But imagine that barrier you have to break in order to step over, to leave the comfort and security of this world and to move ahead. And the bunjee cord is there regardless of how far you fall. Like faith in God. No?

    Many are still waiting. Waiting for the “right time” to change: when i finish NS, when i graduate, when i get married, when i become a mother/father, after i’ve made my first million, etc.

    So many still choose to wait by the edge till they ready themselves for the fall.

    Unless of course someone pushes them from behind before they’re ready, no?

  • 2. sufyan  |  June 5, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    Salam Sis,

    I stumbled upon your blog not long ago and I enjoyed reading every single post! Very intelligently written and best part is, we have similar opinions.

    That Hadith Qudsi is beyond beautiful. I’m gonna make copies of that and have it on my notice board to remind myself how Great Allah is, and how much of a sinner man I am but yet Allah still showers me with good food, nice clothes, shelter, clean place to live, work and play.

    Well, I look forward to reading more quality entries from you =)

  • 3. alfaqeer  |  June 8, 2008 at 2:13 pm

    he: I think you got the answer yourself.

    “to leave the comfort and security of this world and to move ahead”

    Thats precisely whats stopping people right? Love for this world? Attachment to these temporary desires & enjoyment.

    sufyan: Salaam! Alhamdulillah I’m glad you enjoyed them. May they be of benefit insyaAllah.

    Similar opinions ey? Woohoo! :) Haha. Yes, that hadith qudsi is really beautiful right? MasyaAllah.

    Do comment often when you come by!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Archives


