Just a reminder

May 22, 2008 at 6:45 pm 7 comments

It just struck me how little people talk about death. And how uncomfortable people might get when I start talking about it. Well, the thing is, I think thinking about death is the most effective way to be good, to do good.

Once you fully internalise the fact that you are going to leave this world, sooner rather than later, you will re-prioritise your life. You would value the preparations for the next Life, the true & real life, rather than lose yourself in enjoyments of this world.

With my friends I may not have the heart to say all this because I don’t want people to be uncomfortable with me but I’m pretty firm with my family on this (to the extent that my Original Spiritual Comrade calls me “Umara”, you know, like Sayyidina Umar RA’s female counterpart. Not because of my iman, just coz I’m supposedly “strict”.) For example, when I see my dad watching some completely useless, extremely worldly & brings no benefit whatsoever tv-show (read: something showing on Suria), I’ll walk past & go “Dunia dah nak kiamat. Masih nak tengok lagi ke program ni?” Translation: The world is ending. You still want to watch this program?

Haha. I know that seems a bit harsh but I weigh the situation. If he’s back from work & tired & wants to just relax & chill, I leave him to the tv. And I’m okay with him watching soccer & whatever else, but this talk show is seriously sakitkan mata & hati okay. With the ladies who don’t cover their aurah jumping around & singing, it just annoys me. You may judge me & say I’m a boring person bla bla bla. And seriously, I don’t care. I think entertainment is important. I understand the need to rewind & relax. But I think your choice of entertainment is important too. What will you say to Allah when He asks you “How did you spend your time?” You’re going to say “Oh I was watching people who did not cover their aurah jumping about & enjoying life in this world.” Eeeeeks, tak tahu malu ke?

If I were to tell you the Last Days are here, that we are living it right now, what would you say? You’d say “Yeah we know.” Right? Because everyone knows! The signs are everywhere! And yet, our preparation is so measly. MasyaAllah, confident nye.

Surah al-Fajr:
21: Nay! When the earth is pounded to powder,
22: And your Lord comes, and His angels rank upon rank,
23: And Hell, that Day, is brought (face-to-face) – on that Day will man remember, but how will that remembrance profit him?
24: He will say: “Ah! Would that I had sent forth (Good Deeds) for (this) my (Future) Life!”

I pray that we will not have to utter those words on the Day when we should be rejoicing for finally being reunited with our Rabb.

From the commentary by Abdullah Yusuf Ali for the last line, he says:

“The Retribution will at last come, and we shall realise it in our inmost being, all the illusions of this fleeting world having been swept away. Then we shall remember, and wish, too late, that we had repented. Why not repent now? Why not bring forth the fruits of repentance now, as a preparation for the Hereafter?”

Surah Abasa:
33: At length, when there comes the Deafening Noise –
34: That Day shall man flee from his own brother,
35: And from his mother & his father,
36: And from his wife & children.
37: Each one of them, that Day, will have enough concern (of his own) to make him indifferent to the others.

His commentary:
“Even those who were nearest & dearest in this life will not be able or willing to help each other on that awful Day. On the contrary, if they have to receive a sentence for their sins, they will be anxious to avoid even sharing each other’s sorrows or witnessing each other’s humiliation; for each will have enough of his own troubles to occupy him. The sinner will desire to save himself at the expense even of his own family & benefactors.”

Work hard in this life but don’t forget the life to come. Don’t allow shaytaan to distract you from what is our true goal here. Always remind yourself & others of death. We are in the Last Days, when else are you going to help each other if not now?

Said Ibn Umar RA, ‘The Prophet SAW once went out while the sun was upon the tips of the palm branches, and said “Nothing remains of this world save a time proportionate to that which remains of this day.”

And he SAW said, “The similitude of this world is that of a garment torn from end to end, but which remains attached by a thread at one extremity. That thread is almost broken.”

Said Jabir RA, ‘The Prophet SAW used, when delivering a sermon, to make mention of the Hour. His voice would be raised and his cheeks would show red as though he were warning them of the approach of an army. “Morning & evening I greet you”, he would say, “while my mission and the Hour are like so,” and he would hold up two fingers held close together.’

Said Ibn Mas’ud RA, ‘The Prophet SAW once recited And whosoever God wills to guide, He opens his breast to Islam(Surah al-An’am: 125), and said, “When light enters into a heart it opens up.” Upon being asked, “O Prophet of Allah! Is there a sign whereby this may be recognised?” he said, “Yes: turning aside from the abode of beguilement to the abode of eternity, and preparing for death before it comes”.’

Said Sayyidina Umar RA “Leisureliness in all things is fine, save in the good works which are for the Afterlife.”

Al-Hasan RA was in the habit of saying when he delivered an exhortation, “Hurry! Hurry! If the breaths which you take were denied you they would signal the end of your works, through which you draw nearer to Allah SWT. May God’s Mercy be upon that man who looks to himself and sheds tears over the profusion of his sins.’ Then he recited the verse, We do but number unto them a certain sum, and said, “This refers to your breaths, the last of which shall be accompanied by the departure of your soul, the separation from your family, and your entry into the grave.:

Apologies for not fulfilling my promise of continuing the discussion on The Ideal Muslimah v.2 but I’ve been thinking much about death today. Hope you are too.




From those around I hear a Cry,
A muffled sob, a Hopeless sigh,
I hear their footsteps leaving slow,
And then I know my soul must Fly!
A chilly wind begins to blow,
Within my soul, from Head to Toe,
And then, Last Breath escapes my lips,
It’s Time to leave. And I must Go!
So, it is True (But it’s too Late)
They said: Each soul has its Given Date,
When it must leave its body’s core,
And meet with its Eternal Fate.

Oh mark the words that I do say,
Who knows? Tomorrow could be your Day,
At last, it comes to Heaven or Hell
Decide which now, Do not delay!
Come on my brothers let us pray
Decide which now, Do not delay!

Oh God! Oh God! I cannot see!
My eyes are Blind! Am I still Me
Or has my soul been led astray,
And forced to pay a Priceless Fee
Alas to Dust we all return,
Some shall rejoice, while others burn,
If only I knew that before
The line grew short, and came my Turn!
And now, as beneath the sod
They lay me (with my record flawed),
They cry, not knowing I cry worse,
For, they go home, I face my God!


Oh mark the words that I do say,
Who knows, Tomorrow could be your Day,
At last, it comes to Heaven or Hell
Decide which now, Do not delay !
Come on my brothers let’s pray
Decide which now, do not delay ….

Entry filed under: Al-Qur'an, Allah SWT, death, hadith, Last Day, Posts, Prophet SAW, Sayyidina Umar RA, video. Tags: .

The Ideal Muslimah v.2 Announcement

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ruqayyah  |  May 22, 2008 at 9:14 pm

  • 2. srikandi  |  May 23, 2008 at 1:56 am

    ALLAHummaj’al ad-dunya fi aidiina…wal akhirah fi quluubina….ya RABB…ya RABB…ya RABB… :'(

    ” orang yang cerdik itu adalah dia yg selalu mengingati mati…” al-hadith

  • 3. alfaqeer  |  May 23, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    ruqayyah: thats another tear-jerker there. =/

    srikandi: ameen ya Rabbal Alamin!

  • 4. mardhiah  |  May 24, 2008 at 1:03 am

    yeap; “Whoever hopes to meet his Lord – God has delayed the meeting.” (29:5)

    so the power in that ayat is such that God wants u to be prepared ALL THE TIME. and are we?

    i know im not.

  • 5. alfaqeer  |  May 24, 2008 at 1:23 am

    mardhiah: i think the moment we feel that we are prepared, then thats shaytaan’s greatest deception. because then we might feel content. which is dangerous. so i guess there’s wisdom in us not feeling that we are prepared so that we will always be preparing. insyaAllah..

  • 6. he  |  May 25, 2008 at 3:37 pm

    I guess people are afraid or uncomfortable to talk about death because, it is not really a natural thing to talk about in conversations.

    Partly, because our society has been lulled into a false sense of security within this world. We are lulled into a routine, and to a certain extent, entertainment gives an outlet of escapism from the world that we live in.

    There are many reasons why people would rather watch TV, then say read the Quran. Maybe this is something we can look into. In fact, i look forward to your input on this, because alot of us, are still waiting “to be ready” before taking that step towards Allah. Its almost like bunjee jumping, still looking down at the depth of the fall and still waiting to calm ourselves before we take the plunge.

    In any case, not that i’m discounting the prophetic and Quranic view of death, but i personally believe, that life and death are different sides to the same coin. This may be due to personal experiences and a love for literature but it can also be to my own ignorance to the Quran and Sunnah. I believe that it can be as beneficial to talk about life if everybody else is shy of talking about death. Life represents hope.

    One way of looking at the recent cyclones and earthquakes and whatever not, is to see the death toll and of course be reminded of our own timely deaths. But another way for us is to also look at the outpouring of help, aid and whatever nots and realise that this is also from Allah: the Love and Life and Hope.

    Ok sorry for the lengthy comment, but you know how i am. Hahah. And readers of the blog, i don’t say that my points negate the very harsh reality of what has been said by the writer in this post. It’s just an extension i guess. And i know that Amee herself will very much agree to my pov.

    Ok, time for me to go back into exile..

  • 7. Real Knowledge « amee al-faqeer  |  May 26, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    […] taking a break from work & other tasks thats awaiting my attention, I decided to reply to a (very long) comment by ‘he’ on the post on death. (People take break go makan, or talk on the phone, or […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Archives


