My “Fahri”

May 19, 2008 at 4:51 pm 27 comments

My Fahri is waiting for me,
Just as I am waiting for him.
My Fahri preserves himself & lowers his gaze
Till he meets me & be amazed.

My Fahri speaks gently
and advises much.
My Fahri restricts his dating-fun
Till he meets me, his beloved one.

My Fahri fears Allah
and never miss prayers.
My Fahri cries over his past sins at night
Till I come by & make him feel light.

My Fahri loves the Prophet
and tries to emulate him.
My Fahri will take my breath away
in real life, just as in my dream.

My Fahri never forgets his siwak
and tries to always have wudhu’.
My Fahri treats the sunnah as wajib
& leaves the subha for fear of making a slip.

My Fahri will be shy
when we finally meet.
And make me blush
& I’ll stare at my feet.

My Fahri will love me for my efforts today
and forget my past as I forget his.
My Fahri & I will build a bond
with parents’ blessings, 2 rings, & our first kiss.

My Fahri will whisper sweet words to me
that has never been heard by another girl before.
My Fahri & I will create memories
of jemaah prayers, qiyamulail, & more.

My Fahri will read the Qur’an to me when I am down
& I will read to him when he asks me to.
My Fahri, my Imam, in this life & the next,
Do you know that I am missing you?

My Fahri will understand my dreams & goals
and will support me in my quest for ma’rifatulLah
My Fahri does not distract & obstruct me
but increases my love for the Prophet & Allah.

My Fahri will always greet me with a smile
even if he’s had a bad day at the office.
And I in turn will adorn myself & wait at the door
smelling nice & looking good & ready with a kiss.

My Fahri will share with me his deepest secrets,
his many dreams & biggest fears.
I will be his wife & best friend,
his comforter, his recharge & wiper of tears.

My Fahri & I will take turns
to wake the other up for tahajjud.
My Fahri will still call me gorgeous
when I’m not looking too good.

My Fahri will never raise his voice at me
but advise & admonish me firmly.
My Fahri will know I cry easily
and will cry with me or wipe my tears for me.

My dear Fahri, I hope you know I’ll always need you
despite my notorious independent streak.
This girl will love you more than all her books
that has made her into this geek.

My Fahri will love my parents as if they were his
and I will care for his parents like they were mine.
My Fahri reads widely, thinks deeply & prepares for the next Life
but never neglects me in his dua, like he is always in mine.

My Fahri & I will love for Allah
we’ll make a great tag team.
My Fahri is waiting for me,
just as I am waiting for him.

_________________

Hold your horses, don’t get excited. Fahri is just a borrowed name from the book (no, not the movie yucks) “Ayat-ayat Cinta”. And this is just a dream & fantasy. InsyaAllah, Allah gives me better than I have described. :)

Entry filed under: marriage, poem, Posts. Tags: .

Unposted letter The Ideal Muslimah v.2

27 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hasanul Arifin  |  May 20, 2008 at 7:37 am

    wow wat a brilliant poem! so ayat2 cinta has indeed turned you into a ‘berangan-angan’ youth ehh haha.

    Hopefully u find ur own Fahri one day insya-Allah, haha and im not fit for an Aishah lei. As such i think i’ll just concentrate on fighting my nafs and serving Allah rather than think of marriage yet :P

    And im sick of talking about marriage wargh dis nikah gantung article is killing me!

  • 2. alfaqeer  |  May 20, 2008 at 7:56 am

    Hasanul Arifin: Eh excuse me. I’m no berangan-angan youth okay! Haha.

    Yea insyaAllah. :) Haha yeah fighting nafs & serving Allah is a lifelong process. Marriage is part of life. Even after marriage also still must fight nafs & serve Allah. But yeah, I get what you mean. For now, yes, these two take precedence over marriage definitely.

    What does not kill you, makes you stronger. Eh? Haha. Macam gitu la bunyi quote dia. Okay okay I shall never mention marriage to you anymore. Haha.

  • 3. ruqayyah  |  May 20, 2008 at 3:44 pm

    Eh… u linked me.. :)

    Nice poem.. rhymes so perfectly..

  • 4. alfaqeer  |  May 20, 2008 at 5:45 pm

    ruqayyah: Eh mesti lah. Kalau hari-hari nak kene type your blog address, kan penat. Haha. ;)

    I haven’t written in very long. This are all super short rhymes. Rusty already la. I used to write quite often hehe.

  • 5. ruqayyah  |  May 20, 2008 at 6:46 pm

    me too… used to write jiwang poems a lot haha.
    but got over that phase, i guess :p

  • 6. alfaqeer  |  May 20, 2008 at 6:52 pm

    ruqayyah: Haha maybe I shall put up the link of my old blog where I used to write. Hmmmm..

  • 7. hidayah  |  May 20, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    MasyaAllah, somehow ive bn so affected with this whole Mr Fahri thingy.. Ive successfully completed the book with an estimated 7 tempayan of air mata.. ahakz.. jus tissue packs la..
    btw, i think the kalimah seems to stuck me greatly. May u and me find our destinated ‘fahri’and may we work towards becoming beautiful muslimah. insyaAllah. Ameen. :)

  • 8. hidayah  |  May 20, 2008 at 9:36 pm

    a particular para frm yur poem truly reminds me of someone. of his deed. Allah is most gracious and He knows best. :(

  • 9. alfaqeer  |  May 20, 2008 at 9:54 pm

    hidayah: Don’t worry darling. I’m going to sound like a makcik here but “kalau dah jodoh, tak ke mana”. Hehe. Indeed, Allah replaces what He takes away with something better. :) Always trust in that. Allah knows best. You’re a beautiful, beautiful Muslimah my love. I bet you’ll only attract the best Muslims too. Seriously one, I mean it with all my heart! Don’t worry okay. *hugs*

  • 10. mardhiah  |  May 21, 2008 at 2:54 pm

    what a beauuutiful poem from a beauuutiful lady! i like the books & geek part (coz i am also liddat one mah… hahaha)

    & i just realised tt u linked me, fellow mujahidah :D

  • 11. hidayah  |  May 21, 2008 at 9:46 pm

    Allah yubarik fik ya Ameera… :)

  • 12. alfaqeer  |  May 22, 2008 at 10:37 am

    mardhiah: heee thanks gorgeous! :)

    fellow mujahidah, fellow geek. woo!

    hidayah: wa’iyak. and you too. :)

  • 13. SITI  |  October 28, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    masyaAllah, somehow i’m in tears reading ur poems..cuz its the same wish i had. Your poem sound soo sweet. May Allah gives us better than we hope for…Insya-Allah.
    Amin.

  • 14. alfaqeer  |  October 28, 2008 at 4:52 pm

    Siti: InsyaAllah.. We have to remind ourselves also that nobody is perfect and to have someone fit the poem is difficult and we should be more lenient. Haha. The Fahri in my poem sounds so perfect. While its good to have ideals, its also good to look through human eyes.

    And its even better to make sure we are deserving of a Fahri in the first place!

  • 15. Amin Ahmad  |  November 2, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    Subhanallah.

  • 16. sajida  |  November 4, 2008 at 4:16 am

    salam. saya mintak izin copy poem ni ye. tapi saya akan sertakan blog kamu. tq..

  • 17. alfaqeer  |  November 4, 2008 at 7:10 am

    Amin Ahmad: :)

    sajida: Salaam. InsyaAllah, kalau memberikan manfaat.

  • 18. hudaidris  |  November 6, 2008 at 9:36 am

    assalamu’alaikum sis.. may i also copy ur poem n paste it in my blog? 4 sure with ur link too. so sweeett. may u istiqamah ni His way. its so hard to maintain the iman at the top level everytime.. mujahadah2~ hohO. btw, nice to meet ya in this ‘alam maya’.. heh

  • 19. alfaqeer  |  November 6, 2008 at 11:56 am

    hudaidris: Waalaikumsalam. Sure you can. May we all istiqamah in His way. :) Nice meeting you too sis. Hehe.

  • 20. deeya  |  December 16, 2008 at 11:04 am

    assalamualaikum

    may i, too, copy your poem and put up in my blog? i simply love poems (or anything with flowery snippets)…and can i link u at my blog also? :D

    may you are in His blessings always :):)

  • 21. alfaqeer  |  December 16, 2008 at 3:27 pm

    deeya: Waalaikumsalam

    Haha, indeed you are most welcomed to. :)
    Thanks. May He bless you always too.

  • 22. Mahirah  |  December 17, 2008 at 12:20 pm

    Ok, kak, now u’ve inspired me to write a peom abt this life partner thingy.

    But I’ll call it My Habibi ahaha!

    sungguh not original haha…

  • 23. alfaqeer  |  December 17, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    Mahirah: Hahaha. Habibi already means My Love. If My Habibi means My My Love. So possessive la you! Haha!

  • 24. “My Fahri” Version 2 « amee al-faqeer  |  May 20, 2009 at 1:14 am

    […] got home minutes ago and for some strange reason or another, I decided to re-read my old “My Fahri” poem. And guess what, it was written exactly a year ago. […]

  • 25. Singapore Muslim Bloggers » “My Fahri” Version 2  |  May 23, 2009 at 7:21 am

    […] got home minutes ago and for some strange reason or another, I decided to re-read my old “My Fahri” poem. And guess what, it was written exactly a year […]

  • 26. Salam  |  August 25, 2009 at 2:15 pm

    a very good poem. Does anyone who what is the meaning of “Fahri”? I believe it is a arabic word. What its mean?

  • 27. alfaqeer  |  August 25, 2009 at 3:40 pm

    It means ‘my pride’ or ‘my honour’.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Archives


