WWRD

May 8, 2008 at 10:53 am 7 comments

I first came across this acronym here & have applied it to my daily life as much as possible. It was the simplest of things to remember & it has helped me (I hope) improve my akhlak bit by bit.

When I am contemplating if I should give up my seat on the bus or train to someone who does not look that old, I think WWRD (What Would Rasulullah saw Do?) and without hesitation, I would give up my seat.

When I think the food I bought is tasteless, I take 2 seconds to think “WWRD?” and then I close my mouth although 2 seconds ago, I was going to complain.

WWRD has been a very powerful tool & motivation for me because once I ask that, nothing else matters except the people around you. Because thats exactly how Rasulullah SAW was. He never cared about himself or if he’s had enough food or if he had a nice place to sleep on. His concern & love was always outwards, towards his Companions (may Allah be pleased with them all) and his Ummah.

I shared the acronym WWRD with Hasan & he has written a brilliant post. I hope everyone can pass the message around. We shall start an Akhlak Revolution! And our motto shall be WWRD! Change comes from within and our asatizahs can talk for 1 or 2 hours on Rasulullah SAW’s seerah & character but if we are going to come out of from that talk without bringing anything with us, we are certainly amongst the ones at loss. Once you get something as simple as this, do cherish it & keep it close to your heart. I was wondering if anyone would be interested to have a similar wristband with the words WWRD on it to be a visual reminder to us. Maybe I could suggest it to Nour.sg to see if she’s interested in making the badges.

For any situation and in any hardship, Rasulullah SAW was always the most perfect example. Here’s my challenge for everyone, try it for a day, keep the acronym WWRD in your mind at all times & I’m sure you’d feel the difference in your dealings with people and your parents and your friends & animals even. If any of you so wishes to blog about their WWRD One-Day Challenge, please do inform me & I’ll link your post from here. Lets pass this around & see how many people will be changed by a simple 4 letter word. :)

Okay my time starts…… now!

Entry filed under: pictures, Posts, Prophet SAW, Spiritual Comrade. Tags: .

On Friends How about him?

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. someone from your past  |  May 8, 2008 at 12:31 pm

    i decided to use M instead of D to make it more marketable to the Non-Muslims :)

    They wouldn’t know who Rasulullah is, but everyone knws who Muhammad is, the seal of the nubuwwah, our imam.

  • 2. hidayah  |  May 8, 2008 at 2:27 pm

    i think WWRD is a briliant thing! i wld take it as a personal challenge… May we be given the istiqamah to pursue all good deeds we desire. Ameen Ya Rabbal Alamin. :)

  • 3. shahib  |  May 8, 2008 at 5:55 pm

    Salam, ameera great post about WWRD yah i think its really motivates us to ikhlas in our daily lives.. i should implement it on visitdyn.com as a campaign.. and reminder for me and others. insyaAllah thanks.

    Thank you,
    Shahib

  • 4. alfaqeer  |  May 9, 2008 at 11:23 am

    someone from your past: Hey its all cool. Whichever rocks your boat. As long as its beneficial, alhamdulillah. :)

    hidayah:alhamdulillah. do blog about it yea. i think it helps when others read personal stories. :) and ameen!

    shahib: wah boss, you finally commented. haha. yes i think its a great idea to mention it on DYN. lets spread the message as far as possible!

  • 5. srikandi  |  May 9, 2008 at 5:29 pm

    Salaam my dearest ukhti…

    MasyaALLAH…i can really feel ur love towards Rasulullah saw…and ur post is very impressive…:) hope we cud become friends?? :)

    Salam Ukhuwwah…

    Sollina ‘ala Sayyidinan Nabiyy…!

  • 6. alfaqeer  |  May 9, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    srikandi: Waalaikumsalam warahmatullahi ta’ala wabarakatuh.

    SubhanAllah. I hope this love is real & not my imagination. And I pray this love (if its really there) will be aflame in my heart till I finally meet him SAW on the Last Day. Amin.

    Of course we could become friends! :))

    Ya Rabbi, Solli ala Sayyidina Muhammad wa ala alihi wa sohbihi wasallim!

  • 7. To start a new day « amee al-faqeer  |  August 19, 2008 at 8:26 am

    […] yes, because I really want the Akhlak Revolution to work out, here’s some hadith that will hopefully make you smile more, frown less and try […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Archives


