Response to “The Hijab Issue”

April 21, 2008 at 3:57 pm 2 comments

First of all, thanks for the comments. They are very long. Haha. And hence, the need to have another post just for responses. I would only quote some parts of the comments and respond to them but if you want to read the full comments, you can click here.

From Nurhuda:

How, where or when can we actually tegur someone who is a fellow Muslim whom according to our own beliefs is behaving in a disapproving manner?

For the non-Malay-speaking readers, ‘tegur’ means to admonish or reprove.
I think this point has got to do with hikmah or wisdom when dealing with things of this manner. For this, I encourage everyone to read this short explanation or guidelines on hikmah and ways to practise amar ma’ruf wa nahi munkar.

I believe that there are women out there who doesn’t wear the tudung, but are better believers than me. To me, wearing the tudung is only just one small step to improving myself as a Muslim. In other areas, I have yet to improve myself, and I hope that in time to come, I’ll be a better Muslim.

InsyaAllah. Thats our hope for everyone. :)
So I think the important point being brought forward here is that a hijab does not guarantee that one is a better believer. Perhaps its an indication, a symbol, a sign, that the one wearing is more cautious about adhering to the rules of Allah SWT. This is an act of “husnu zon” – to assume good things about everyone.

The opposite of that is “su’u zon” – to have bad thoughts/impressions of people. Which is basically what this hijab issue is about. Because your outer appearance has a role to play in impression-making and in the process of people forming their thoughts on you.

However, one particular thing that irks me is that my own society puts this unreasonably large expectation on me, which you have been discussing, but they fail to see, I am just trying to practise my religion and not being an exemplar to the rest of the community.

I respect what you have written. But for me, whether we don the tudung or not, we have to be an exemplar to the society. I never really bothered about what people thought about me until maybe one or two years ago. This does not mean that I go out of my way to be someone I’m not or to pretend to do something so that others may think I’m a good person.

What I’m trying to get at is this: We are Muslims. If we say we are believers, then we must show that we are believers. We must strive to be the best that we can be in every area of our lives, and not just in our religious duties but in our secular activities as well.

If we truly believe in our heart that Rasulullah SAW is the most perfect man, then we must follow his ways and his advices. It has got nothing to do with the hijab. It has got to do with our iman, our faith in Islam as the perfect religion. Are we not convinced? Is that why we choose to obey some rules and bend others? Do we not believe that Allah SWT is All-Knowing and All-Wise? Should we question the need for a hijab when we know that Allah knows best and His Word is Law?

‘Aisyah RA remarked, The Quraish women were indeed good, but, by Allah, I have seen no one better than the women of the Ansar in applying the Book of Allah and believing in the revelation. When the ayah of Surah al-Noor, ‘That they should draw their head-coverings over their bosoms,’ was revealed, their men returned to their homes and recited it to their women. No sooner did the man recite it to his wife, his daughter, his sister, or any other female relative, then she tied any piece of cloth available to her, perhaps from a curtain having pictures on it (on her head), so that when they came to pray behind the Prophet (peace be on him), it looked as if crows were sitting on their heads.

(Ibn Kathir mentions this in his discussion of this ayah, on the authority of Ibn Abi Hatim.)

These are tough questions and I am not questioning anyone’s iman. Allah knows how weak mine is and pray for His protection. Why I’m saying all these is because these are the very questions that play in my mind when I question my sincerity in my worship and my own belief. Do I rush to do everything Allah says I must do, like the Ansar women? Or do I take my own sweet time? Thinking the Last Day is still far, that I still have time to change and to be better, that death takes away the old and that I’m still young etc etc.

Islam encourages knowledge-seeking, encourages us to be good to others and to ourselves, to contribute to society and to help the poor. There are so many beautiful things in Islam so why is it that we are being looked at so lowly? It pains my heart to see what is happening to our Ummah, it really does hurt.

We have no one to blame but ourselves. We are not upholding the Sunnah as tightly as we can. We have doubts about certain rulings because we want freedom and the ability to choose. We question the actions of those who wear the hijab and we keep quiet about our friends who don’t pray. We don’t study or read the Qur’an as often and as deeply as we should. We spend hours on end to fulfill our responsibilities as a student and not as much time learning about our own religion. We exhaust our efforts in pleasing our other halfs in hope of it ending in marriage and not as much effort in correcting ourselves and wondering if we will bring up the next generation of Ideal Muslims.

I could go on and we all know that list is endless. What really saddens me is how the Ummah, especially the youth, the ones who will go on to lead the rest of the Ummah, treat Islam. It is my belief that we cannot separate Islam from Life. Because as Muslims, islam is life. Everything that is taught in Islam are good and it not only benefits us, but others. If we were only to review ourselves and give ourselves a report card on how “Muslim” we are, trust me, we will all give ourselves a big fat F. I guess this links to my previous post about accounting for our deeds before we are asked to account for them.

.

I’ve only wanted to respond to the comments but I guess this post has been long enough hahaha. InsyaAllah I will respond to the other comments in a separate post. Till again, take care & remember, we are all walking ambassadors for Islam. Stop shunning the role and embrace it. :)

Entry filed under: Aisyah RA, hijab, Posts, Ummah, youth. Tags: .

The Hijab Issue Responses to The Hijab Issue v2

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nadia  |  April 21, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    Well said, and i can’t agree more.
    As muslims, we all have a role to play in taking pride to be a muslim.
    “If we say we are believers, we must show that we are believers.”
    Good one.

    alfaqeer: Well, surely its easier said than done. And I pray we all stir up the motivation in each other’s hearts to strive to be the best servants of Allah & the best imitators of Sayyidina Rasulullah SAW always. :) Thanks for your comments dear!

  • 2. khaliesah  |  April 22, 2008 at 2:02 am

    Hello, this has nothing to do with the content of your post, but how do you put the big open inverted commas when you quote someone ah?

    haha its called a blockquote. but for my big inverted commas, its a preformatted thing that comes with the template of my blog design (that I did not design myself) & I cannot access the HTML codes so I dunno where it comes from or how to replicate it. SORRY!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Archives


